this is me now

September 9, 2007

110,078

Filed under: football,learning,PennState — by heatherdc @ 7:59 pm

110, 078: Number of people that filled the seats of Beaver Stadium Saturday night to watch the PennState Nittany Lions defeat Notre Dame!! It was the second largest crowd in Beaver Stadium history, and I was there.

Check This Out. We are…PennState baby! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ma8eNb-I9VE

Saturday marked a lot of “firsts”. First time attending a night-game at PennState. First ALL-STADIUM White Out (and ooooh, it was beautiful). First time standing for the entirity of every quarter (until that 4th one rolled around…dangit. In my defense, flip-flops are not appropriate footwear for standing endurance on metal bleachers, nope nope). First time attempting to sing the entire Alma Mater (it’s pretty long, who wrote that?). First time buying a bottle of water without having the cap removed (maybe students have stopped throwing water bottles? Agh, let’s hope so). And to that I should add, it was the First time that I’ve seen people in the stands selling water (yesssss, no more concession stand lines!). Nice job PennState, very much appreciated. 🙂

That could probably go on for a while, I’ll stop with that.

I did leave one “first” out. It was my First home game as a senior (whoa) in Beaver Stadium! Everything about that place amazes me. The size, the capacity, the crowd, and most importantly…the PennState PRIDE. I love it!
I also love when we sing “Hey Baby” before the start of the fourth quarter. That is somewhat unrelated, but I really like that song.

I’m still learning this whole football thing, but I must say, I’ve come a long way in 4 years. As a freshman, the only things I knew/understood about football included the following:

-Touchdowns are worth 6 points. Extra kick=extra point. Bringing the total to 7.

-When someone gets tackled with the ball, it’s time for another “down”.

-There are 4 “downs” before the ball goes to the next team.

-A yellow flag means somethin’s goin down. Or somebody messed up.

Yep, that’s it. Clearly, there was a lot to be learned. Thanks in large part to my dear friend Emily, and the patience of those around me, I now fully understand the game and most of it’s happenings (don’t worry, I won’t make another list of what I know now…that’s going a little too far). More importantly, I like watching football. Hmm, didn’t see that one coming. And I feel it is appropriate to add that thanks to Emily, once again, and Larisa, I am a huge Steelers fan. We had a little scare today when we were watching them play the Browns, where was Palomalu???? Don’t worry, we found him and his crazy hair. Whew.

I don’t own a terrible towel, maybe I should get on that.

Next on the schedule, Buffalo State. Saturday at noon. Let’s Go State!
(Why are we playing Buffalo State? I do not know.)

1 Comment »

  1. we are playing Buffalo State so we can win!!!! that joepa is a smoothe one 😉 i’m glad you lovah the football games now…although it is incredibly sad that this was your FIRST night game at PSU—oh hdc!

    Comment by L B — September 11, 2007 @ 1:53 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

