this is me now

October 5, 2007

Welcoming Fall…

Filed under: clothes,Fall,PennState,weather — by heatherdc @ 12:29 am

…with open (arms?) Toe-d shoes!

It is officially the Fall season. We are in school, the first round midterms have come and gone, Football is in full bloom….and it’s still 80 degrees!!!

On this beautiful “fall” day I left the apartment in shorts, a t-shirt and flip-flops. Not typical clothing for the 4th day of October in central Pennsylvania! I have worn jeans twice since starting school, and on the handful of days that a jacket has accompanied me, it has ended up stuffed in a bag by noon. As much as I love warm weather, being a desert native, I will admit that the hot & humid days combined with classes is a little “much”.

We, as Penn-Staters, are somewhat thrown-off. Usually by this time of the year we are switching to jeans and hoodies, and we are preparing ourselves to pull out the heavy-duty winter gear. Approximately one year ago I was spending the weekend in D.C. with some classy ladies, having to wear the jacket-gloves-scarf ensemble that screams “fall is here”! I vividly remember leaving the Museum of Natural History and grabbing a toasty hot-chocolate on our walk over to the (new, gorgeous) World War II memorial.

That seems like a distant memory as I get ready for this weekend; tackling Beaver Stadium in 80 degree sunshine once again, cheering our team to another Home victory.

In reference to fashion faux pas; as long as the weather is ignoring that it’s Fall, I will too. I will continue to wear my shorts, tanks, dresses, sunglasses, and open-toed shoes. However, I do plan on embracing the colors of the season. I love the shades of black, brown, burgundy and maroon that are filling the pages of clothing sites like Banana Republic. I also love the boots and coats, but they will just have to wait…

For the time being, I’m going to enjoy these warm, sunny days. 🙂

1 Comment »

  1. yo another warm and beautiful day today. what’s with my yo-ing by the way 😉 feel better and while you are feeling better write a post!!! MUSH

    Comment by L B — October 9, 2007 @ 2:18 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

