this is me now

October 18, 2007

The Seasons, TMNT & Charlie Brown

Filed under: Fall,Halloween,roommates — by heatherdc @ 11:54 pm

So far, these are the random costume ideas that my roommates & I have come up with for this year’s Halloween extravaganza.

For those of you who don’t know, TMNT=Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.
There’s four of them…four of us…you do the math…I think it’s the best idea yet.

Last year we dressed up as Crayola Crayons…that’s a hard act to follow! We represented the colors “fire engine red”, “razzmatazz”, and “purple people eater”. Using birthday hats covered in the corresponding colored-paper, we were the sharpest crowns in the box. Pretty impressive, I must say. Throughout the night we stood out among the crowds of scandalously dressed girls (“I’m a mouse….duh!”), zombies, ghosts, Frankensteins, etc.

With the night of the 31st less than two weeks away, it’s crunch time. Our first brainstorm for costumes resulted in the possibilities of the following:
-Charlie Brown characters

I get to be Peppermint Patty because of the freckles.

-The Seasons

I’m obviously going with Summer if this is the case.

-A pumpkin patch

This being the simplest of our ideas, which is essentially the appeal.

-TMNT

I have to admit, I am ALL for this one. And I’m totally being Donatello (purple, duh!)

 

 

That’s the best we’ve come up with so far. At this point, we are still open to suggestions. I have discovered there are plenty of websites out there with adult costumes, which I had never thought about before. Some entertaining and totally seasonal, while others exist solely to give people a reason to wear next to nothing and look “dressed up”. I guess by now it’s time to accept that this is what Halloween costumes have come to . What can ya do….

In college, I sometimes forget that this is actually considered a “holiday” (what? it’s not just another reason to get “dressed up” and drink??? hmmmm…..). I am reminded of this annually when I get my “Halloween package” in the mail. Famous for holiday packages, my mom never fails to send them on time and packed full of goodies!! Always including the famous bag of candy corn, Reese’s peanut butter cups, a “fall” scented candle, socks (yes, always socks. Random, I know. I have accumulated quite an impressive collection of holiday socks.), and a festive card wishing me a “Happy Halloween” from the parents. 🙂 Nothing brightens up a day like some love in the form of holiday mail!

However, the mystery of the costume continues….

I’ll just stick to finishing up the candy for now (two weeks early…oops?). And buying more of my Halloween Oreos of course.

1 Comment »

  1. […] carry a “water”-bottle around with me. I’m such a cheap date. Also, I tried this last year and it didn’t fly. And I’m still thinkin’ it would’ve been […]

    Pingback by Something like Dora, or a Turtle « this is me now — October 20, 2008 @ 11:01 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

