this is me now

October 27, 2007

“When somebody hands me a flier

Filed under: college — by heatherdc @ 1:11 am

it’s like they’re saying, ‘Here, you throw this away’.”
-Mitch Hedberg

One of my favorite quotes by the late Mitch Hedberg.

Most of us have experienced this feeling. On a college campus, there are always people recruiting for something, wanting you to donate or participate in this and that. Not necessarily a bad thing, but there is a lot of paper wasted on these little fliers that spend the majority of their existence being trampled to pieces or accumulating in the nearest trash can.

I am not good at being that person. I hate shoving that flier into an unwilling taker’s hands. I try to smile-and-say-“It’s okay, Thanks anyway!” when you get the usual, “No, thanks” or just being flat out ignored. Aghhhh. Actually, I just hate to give the information that I have on to somebody who will, in all honesty, just throw it away as soon as they are out of my peripheral vision.

I have nothing against those of you who have done this, and even include myself in the group. I simply felt the need to comment on this behavior. After 10 minutes of standing in the student union center and placing fliers into the hands of some interested/mostly uninterested students…I observed some interesting things. People will begin to slowly change their steps so that when they pass you, they’ll be about 5 feet from you as opposed to an arm’s distance (prime opportunity for flier-to-hand exchange). They attempt anything to avoid eye contact; look at ipod and pretend to change song, talk on the phone, pretend to be intently staring at something ahead, pick up the pace, pass this person and do Not get a flier!!! Passing empty handed=Mission Accomplished.

Every once in a while I look at down at what has been thrust into my hand and find valuable information. Something I was not aware of and am genuinely interested in. Every once in a while, when I thrust the information I’m sharing into the hands of an innocent passer, I hope that they are enticed and genuinely interested in what I have given them.

I’ll never be the type of person who feels comfortable approaching anybody who walks by and have them signing up for something five minutes later. I’m okay with that.

However, I work for Disney.

When it comes to Disney, I have to say I can be pretty convincing. 🙂 Get me talking and I could go on and on. Forget the flier and the informational brochure. Take the Mickey sticker ( you know it makes you smile!), watch the video that still gives me goosebumps every time, ask me anything and everything, and you decide for yourself. Experience the Magic.

1 Comment »

  1. listen to this homie—no walking away from me tactic can work. i will track you down and you will be walking out of the HUB with a mickey sticker and a rack card. end of story.

    Comment by L B — November 1, 2007 @ 3:28 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

