this is me now

December 28, 2007

Remember the Alamo?

Filed under: family,football,PennState,travel — by heatherdc @ 5:54 pm

Destination: San Antonio!

We are headed to the southern Texas city tomorrow to watch the Valero Alamo Bowl Game, Penn State vs. Texas A&M. We’ll be greeted with temperatures in the sixties, sunshine, and plenty of things to do! The game starts approximately 2 hours after our plane lands, so the plan is to get off the plane and book it to the Alamodome!

I don’t want to miss any of the pre-game festivities because this will probably be the last Penn State football game I’ll be attending for quite a while. In place of my roommates, I will be joined by my family for the first time! My parents did attend one game in Beaver Stadium during my freshman year, but obviously didn’t join me in the student section. My brother has never been a Penn State game. I brought home everything we need to be “decked out” for the game, so he’ll be sporting a PSU t-shirt and the blue & white beads I purchased just for this!

I’ve never been to an “away” game, so this will definitely be a different experience! As opposed to the usual sea of blue and white, I anticipate being surrounded mostly by maroon. Although, our alumni are all over the place, and they tend to be a little into this whole football thing.

I don’t know where the BlueBand will be, the entire stadium won’t take part in a “We are…Penn State” cheer, and I don’t know if we’ll get to sing “Hey Baby” before the fourth quarter (I hope!!). Either way, I can’t wait to watch our team run out onto the field, followed by Joe Pa in his rolled-up khakis and classy get-up. He holds the record for both bowl game wins and appearances (22 and 34, respectively)!

We are predicted to win the game, so let’s hope our Nittany Lions can pull through. Our last two bowl games haven’t exactly been performances to be proud of, but we did come out on top. Here’s to hoping that this game will give Joe his 23rd bowl game victory!

The rest of our time will be spent shopping, sight-seeing, eating, drinking, etc. I haven’t been to San Antonio since I was about 8 years old, so I don’t remember too much. The parents have already done a little “research” on what to do for New Year’s Eve. My brother decided we are getting “decked out”, otherwise known as Dressing Up! I was pretty excited about this. It gives me another chance to wear my black dress from our Classy Christmas Party and my new black patent leather pumps. Exciting right?!! I can’t wait 🙂

That just reminded me that I have yet to pack. We’re leaving in about four hours. ehhhhhh. I gotta get on that.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

