this is me now

January 5, 2008

Seasons 1-3 on DVD

Filed under: Entertainment,TV Shows — by heatherdc @ 2:21 pm

Confession: I have spent the last week and a half (minus the weekend trip to Texas) watching “The Office” on DVD. I can’t stop. I’m addicted. I’m soooooo entertained.

I’m also developing a huge crush on Jim Halpert.

For fear that some of you have not started watching the show (do it! now! go rent it!!!!), I’m not here to divulge any secrets. I’m just here to rave about how amazing this show is. I would even go so far as to say; this is the best show on network television since Seinfeld.

It is a “mockumentary” of a group of office workers in Scranton, PA. If you can make anything in Scranton, PA even remotely interesting, Kudos to You! If you can make an office for a paper company in Scranton interesting and hilarious, you have gone above and beyond.

Today we start Season 3.  My mom and brother are watching these with me (in case you were wondering what the “we” is about), and they have no idea what happens. I, on the other hand, basically started watching this show more consistently during the fourth season.  That translates to: I’m not in as much suspense about the “jim and pam” thing.  Basically I know what happens in the long run, but it’s much more fun watching it from the start.  The last episode of Season 2 was a “cliff-hanger”, and I was waiting for that one the whoooole time.

The fact that you can watch entire seasons of a show on DVD has completely changed television.  Do you want to start watching something, but don’t want to be out-of-the-loop? Is there was that show that you just never got around to watching but heard it was “Sooo good”? Or, do you have that show that you can’t get enough of, despite the fact that you’ve seen every episode…multiple times? (“Friends”, “Seinfeld”, “Sex & the City”…anybody?) Simple solution my friends, go rent it on DVD!

The future of television may be at stake here.  We are spoiled by the fact that we can sit down and watch every episode of a season back-to-back. The suspense is lost.  After a few days, you know everything that happened over what should have been months of religiously tuning in at 8 o’clock every Thursdays night.

Don’t get me wrong, I am all for this trend.  I admit it: I have watched numerous television series on DVD, and DVD only. These are not my intentions! I understand that without the numbers, the show would not go on.  They are cancelled, and replaced with something of equal or lesser value. Usually the latter. In my defense, after watching a season (or two…or three) I start actually watching the show.  But I have been spoiled by the commercial-free, back-to-back, on-my-clock version.

Alas, my Thursday nights are now in disarray.  What used to be a night solely and completely devoted to “Grey’s Anatomy”, has now turned into a battle of the shows.  “The Office” is no longer conveniently on right before “Grey’s”, instead it is on at the same time. So is the last season of “Scrubs”. Tough decisions here!

Or, choose one and wait until the other is out on DVD right? 🙂

1 Comment »

  1. My wife and I are hooked as well. If you’ve got cable, they play reruns all the time on TBS.

    Comment by Alan Bradford — January 5, 2008 @ 2:31 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

