this is me now

January 5, 2008

This Is Me Cooking, Part 2

Filed under: cooking,food — by heatherdc @ 8:56 pm

On the menu tonight:

Jalapeño Beer Bread & Mexico Tortilla Soup

My mom told me she wanted to make Beer Bread tonight (I thought of you LB 🙂 ) so then we decided to make a soup to go with it.  I searched Kraft’s website, as I often do, to find something to go with our bread and decided on their Mexican Tortilla Soup.

As usual, we are adding our own “twist” to the recipe. Simple stuff, nothing fancy.   When browning the ground beef, add Taco Seasoning to the meat.  Usually this comes in packets that can be a cheap as $0.50. All you do is add it to the meat when it’s almost done cooking and you’ll typically add it with some water (depends on the brand, each has it’s own directions).  These packets are usually found with the salsa, taco shells, etc.  I also use this seasoning when I make chili to add some extra flavor.

I’m also adding a can of diced tomatoes (undrained) with green chilies to the mix.  I think tomatoes are good in tortilla soup and my mom found the kind that comes canned with the chilies for some extra “spice”. Good stuff!

When we were grocery shopping I stumbled upon a dry mix for the Jalapeño Beer Bread. I was planning on just doing my regular bread, but this sounded too good! The company Desert Gardens makes great dry mixes for soups, breads, and a variety of dips. I only see them when I’m home (in the Southwest), so I stock up and bring some of the soup and dip mixes back with me. I had never seen bread mixes before, and this one was standing solo on the shelf. Perfect twist on beer bread for our Mexican meal! I can smell it baking right now…mmmmmm.

Beer bread has got to be the easiest kind of bread to make.  All you need is the beer of your choice, self-rising flour and sugar.  I’ve used Red Stripe, Yuengling Lager, and Miller Lite.  I normally wouldn’t use a “lite” beer, and don’t recommend it, because it won’t add as much flavor.  But we thought it would actually work better with the Jalapeño bread because we didn’t want something too sweet.

Beer Bread

3 cups Self-Rising Flour
1/4 cup Sugar
1 12 oz. Beer (your choice!), at room temperature

Preheat the oven to 375°. Mix flour and sugar in a large bowl.  Add the beer and stir until mixed. Do Not Overmix!
Place the dough into a greased 9×5 inch pan. Bake for 50-55 minutes. Remove from pan and let it cool about 5 minutes before cutting.

Yup! That’s it!

I love that recipe because you only need 3 things and there’s basically one step: add it all together! 🙂 Simple and quick. And mmmmm it’s gooood!

Eat & Enjoy!

1 Comment »

  1. great post! nice twist on an already great dish!

    Comment by laura — June 17, 2008 @ 5:05 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

