this is me now

January 11, 2008

Packin’ Up

Filed under: home,packing,travel — by heatherdc @ 3:52 pm

Packing is always a challenge for me. I never know what to bring and what not to bring. I always bring too much. I’m always worried that my suitcase(s) will be over the 50 lb limit when I fly home. I never plan ahead and leave some space, despite the fact that I always have more stuff going back due to shopping, gifts, etc.

The long breaks are harder, obviously because I pack a lot more. I want to have everything with me when I’m home, so I always over-do it. The first thing I do when I get home is UNpack, because there’s nothing I hate more than living out of a suitcase. Even if I’m only here for a few days, everything is out of the suitcase and into the closet right away! Then I put my suitcases where I can’t see them. Then, I can relax.

Today, I have load it all up again. Between Christmas, traveling, shopping and more shopping….I have accumulated a lot of things. All of it has to fit back into the two big suitcases I brought with me, that were full to begin with. Ehhhhh.

Then there’s the question of what will be my “carry-on”, and what to pack in that. As a frequent flier and victim of the new regulations on what is allowed/not allowed in your carry-on bag, these are what I consider essentials:

  • Ipod
  • Wallet (don’t forget that ID!!!)
  • Gum
  • Magazine(s)
  • Lotion (that now has to be under 3 oz, and in a plastic bag. Because clearly plastic bags will protect us from the terrorists)
  • A good book

I used to always bring a bottle of water to avoid having to buy one for $3, but that’s not allowed anymore. No liquid over 3 oz, and like I mentioned above, all liquids have to be in a small plastic bag. I have yet to figure out how this is protecting us from anything. Any insight into this?? I always wonder….

I do have some buddies around here that like to “help” me pack. We have 3 cats that all love to climb into a bag or box of any form, whether they fit or not. Then they peek their cute little heads out and purr. 🙂 They are always so proud of themselves for finding a way into this new contraption. When I pull out empty suitcases to start the packing process, they have a new playground. They immediately climb in, lay down, and look up at me like “Hey can I come too??” Personally, I would love to bring them back to school with me. But they definitely would not fit, or be any help towards meeting that 50 lb mark (they are a little large, in LB‘s words “WHOA! big ass cats”. haha)

simbabag2.jpg
box2.jpg

simbawaterbox.jpg

Alright, back to the disaster that is currently my room. This is an all day task, not fun. Only to unpack it all tomorrow. Which is actually really fun around our apartment, because we all run around showing off our New stuff and trying on each other’s clothes/shoes. That is the only thing that makes this process exciting. 🙂

1 Comment »

  1. i cannot believe that YOUR room could EVER be a disaster…please you know my room could take out your room in ANY disaster contest. Also, i think the reasoning behind the liquid/ bottle amount/size has to do with bomb ignition stuff. yes, that made no sense but in my mind….it did. gooood morning hdc 🙂

    Comment by L B — January 16, 2008 @ 10:58 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

