this is me now

January 15, 2008

First Day of Class, for One Last Time

Filed under: college,PennState,roommates,seniors — by heatherdc @ 12:25 am

I woke up this morning to the following weather forecast: High, 36°   Low, 27°  70% chance of Rain/Snow in the mornings and afternoon.

Spring Semester has officially started.

In State College’s defense, this is the first year I have ever come back from winter break to find absolutely NO snow on the ground. The dead trees and flat, brown grass clearly indicate that it’s the middle of the winter, but there is no snow to mask the ugliness of this season.  The sky attempted to change this today, but the result was a “wintry mix” of some rain and some very wet snow. Alas, we had gloomy skies and cold temperatures all day.

This was a typical “first day of spring semester”, except for one thing: it was my Last-first-day-of-spring-semester at Penn State.
Whoa.
That still hasn’t sunk in.

I can’t believe that four months from now I’ll be a “College Graduate”. I’ll have a degree. I’ll be moving out of my apartment. I’ll be moving to a new city/town/college, who’s location I won’t even know until the end of April. I’ll be starting that “next chapter” in my life.

Hopefully in four months that all won’t sound as scary as it does right now.

Until then, here’s to our Last Call!
Here’s to hoping that this semester doesn’t fly by, despite the times we will want it to.
Here’s to going out on random nights, even if I do have class at 9 a.m. the next morning (….just not every week. maybe.).
Here’s to watching “The Office” on Thursday nights in my living room with my roommates and a drink in hand.
Here’s to a few more road trips with Crazy (and the gang) and not getting lost!
Here’s to taco nights, baking cakes, renting movies from Mike’s, TJ Maxx (and our many “Maxx moments”!!), Target trips, walking to Wal-Mart at 10 p.m. for whatever random thing we just have to have right then and there, getting ready together for hooours…because that’s how long it takes to test everyone’s shoes/jewelry/make-up/clothes for different outfits, running to catch the bus, spending days inside because it is literally in the negative degrees, watching “ANTM” marathons (or “What Not to Wear”!), studying too much and rewarding ourselves later, and everything else that will make this Our last Semester.

Penn State. 08.

1 Comment »

  1. this one was a little sad…. but for good reason. Happy Valley wont be the same without you beautiful

    Comment by peter — February 6, 2008 @ 5:17 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

