this is me now

January 25, 2008

Oh, Friday

Filed under: "ehhh" days,college,weekends — by heatherdc @ 2:42 pm

It’s only noon and I have already had quite a day.

Celebrating a friend’s birthday until 1 a.m. this morning equals a very tired girl waking up for a 9 a.m. class. I don’t know how me and this class are going to get along all until May. Thursday nights out are not being compromised this semester. Sorry sleep.

The professor likes to ask a lot of questions. That’s fine, we’re seniors…we should know our stuff by now. What’s not fine? Asking so many questions, that within 25 minutes of lecture we’ve gotten through ZERO slides. We aren’t that smart. And it’s early. On Friday.

On the way to class, I thought “Huh, it’s pretty outside today”. The sun is shining and the sky is bright blue. Beautiful. I have on my shades and my warm coat, I’m okay with winter today.
After class I had about a 15 minute walk to an office to pick some letters up. About 1 minute into that walk it was not-so-pretty-outside anymore. Instead it was windy and freeeeeezing. I thought, “Huh, I can’t remember the last time my nose was this cold. Or my lips were this chapped. Or that I was this mad at the concept of wind. Brrrrrrrr!”

Letters in bag, face warmed up, hood ON this time. Back in the cold and on the way to the bus stop. I got lucky, the bus pulled up in sync with my arrival. Yay! No waiting outside. Good job me. And it wasn’t packed, so I sit my happy self down and pull out my Sudoku. Ready for the ride and pretty content.

HELLO Crazy Bus Driver!

This lady is slamming on brakes and taking corners so fast that the “CATA Bus Travel Guides” actually flew out of their containers!! As we are pulling into a stop downtown she actually scraped the bus against the curb for a good twenty yards. Sitting on that side of the bus, I looked out my window and guess what?? I saw Sparks. Coming from this union of speeding bus–curb-contact. Oh my.

She parked, opened the doors, and hopped out. Sometimes at this stop they take little breaks, usually to smoke a cigarette or grab a soda. And now we sit……..

……..as she smokes. I’m assuming this was the reason behind the I’m-gonna-do-everything-short-of-killing-you style of driving up to this point. Perhaps the rest of the way home will be a calm & relaxed cigarette-buzz-style?

Meh, not so much. But we made it; I’m still alive.

Our apartment complex always feels like a wind tunnel. As you head from the bus stop to our building, its an uphill battle. I trudged up the stairs, to my door, and start to reach for my keys. Inner thoughts:
“I hope I grabbed those damn keys this morning. I know they were sitting on my dresser….(rummaging through the bag)..hmm, gum, pens, trash, wallet, keys?! Wait, that’s a quarter. Pennies. DANGIT. I know I grabbed it. I thought about grabbing it. I told myself, in my head, don’t forget your key. Maybe the door is unlocked? Hmm, nope. No roommates home. AHHH that wind is COLD!”

Down to the office. Hi, I’m retarded and forgot my key locked out. Yes, please let me in. Thank yoouuu.

And now it’s noon. Only good thing to come of all this: I have a haircut appointment in 15 minutes! Yay!!

Oh, and it’s Friday. Happy weekend!

((Friday p.m. Update: The key was in the back pocket of my jeans. The whole time.
Why I put it in my back pocket I do not know. Why I didn’t check my back pocket, I also don’t know. Um, oops.))

2 Comments »

  1. Lady! no wonder you’re such a hit with the paid blogger lady…. These read more like thoughtful and intelligent short stories than blogs! I’M YOUR BIGGEST FAN!

    Comment by peter — February 5, 2008 @ 2:36 pm |Reply

  2. i would have loved to seen those bus sparks fly with you…. maybe on our way back to the 134 after a dinner date and cocktails

    Comment by peter — February 6, 2008 @ 5:01 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

