this is me now

February 7, 2008

Music to my ears

Filed under: driving,Music,random — by heatherdc @ 6:15 pm

It’s amazing to me how quickly a smell, sound, or song can revert us back to specific memories, thoughts, and moments.

While I was working away in the lab this morning, I turned on the radio for some company. Usually it’s set on the Country station, which I’m okay with, but not today. I heard the Maroon 5 song “Harder and Harder to Breathe” and thought, this will do.

I have to say, the DJ was doin’ his thing this morning. I found myself listening to the perfect balance of old-but-good ones and some of the new “hits” that I’m a fan of. When you’re working alone for 2 hours listening to music, your thoughts tend to wander….

“Harder and Harder to Breathe” by Maroon 5

2002: We put the tailgate of the truck down so we had somewhere to sit. The guys are in charge of starting the fire, we just watch. It isn’t very cold out, but having “a bonfire” gives us an excuse to come to this spot and be outside at night. We put in the Maroon 5 CD because it’s neutral. Not everyone likes rap, and not everyone likes Blink 182. We all love these guys though. It plays all night. We’re happy.

“Low (apple-bottom jeans, boots with the FUR)” by Flo-Rida

2007-2008: I look down from the top deck and find my sister dancing in the middle. I’ve never heard this song before, but apparently everybody else has. I listen to the lyrics and have to laugh a little bit, I guess it’s catchy if anything.
We’re shopping in TJ Maxx the next day, Lauren and I dragging Z along into the girl’s shoe section. From around the corner he starts yelling, “Apple-bottom jeans, boots with the FUR!”. We both laugh and turn around. He’s holding the ugliest boots I have ever seen. They look like they came straight off of an animal, maybe a buffalo…or something with long, disgusting black hair.

We’re at Lulu’s dancing, drinking, and enjoying the night. I can finally sing along to this “hit”, and I think it’s growing on me. Good beat, catchy lyrics, happy dancers.

“In the Middle” by Jimmy Eat World

I’m in the passenger seat, so I’m the DJ. It’s warm outside so we decide to be “cool” and put the top down. With nothing better to do after school, this will take up most of our afternoons. We go to “Sonic” to get a Route 44 (large) slushee. The drums start, and we sing.

“Irreplaceable” by Beyoncé

2007: LB turns up the volume, “This is my favorite part!”
“Keep talkin’ that mess that’s fine, but can you walk and talk at the same time??”

We all start singing as loud as we can. We’re driving back from a dinner out, elated from our meal that started with cocktails, involved some wings, and ended with free beads and crazy-straws from our waiter. It’s still nice outside, it’s Thursday, and we can finally go out to dinner and order drinks if we want to.

Maybe we’ll go out, maybe we won’t. It’s only the beginning of the semester, and we have that option should we choose it. Maybe we’ll wear dresses, just for fun. Maybe we’ll sit outside at the Café, while the weather is still cooperative. Maybe we’ll go to the Grill and be classy. It’ll be a good night.

“Sugar We’re goin Down Swingin” by Fall Out Boy

2005: Em is probably so sick of this song, but I’m so addicted to it! In fact, if you look at my iTunes, it’s been played 278 times. You’d think I’d be sick of it by now. I put it on for number 279. Back to my homework: Chemistry, Nutrition, coming up with a Speech for next week.

I hope she gets back soon, I’d much rather be watching “Will & Grace” and getting ice-cream.

“Boulevard of Broken Dreams” by Greenday

2005: I crawl into bed and put my headphones on. I can’t fall asleep without music, but I don’t want to bother the roomie. Oh, the awkwardness of freshman year.

I press play, turn the volume down, and skip to track #5.

“Last Dance with Mary Jane” by Tom Petty

Our taste in music is radically different. He introduces people like Tom Petty and the Postal Service, I make him listen to 50 Cent and Toby Keith. Neither one of us care or complain, we like it all. We like each other. With at least 10 hours of driving ahead of us, the variety keeps it interesting.

I put in the latest “mix” that he made and sent to me in the mail while I was away. I want him to know that I love when he does little things like that. I turn it to track #4 and smile at him as I start to sing along, encouraging him to join in. I know we both like this one.

“This is one of two songs I would totally do Karaoke to”, he says. I laugh, one day I’ll make him do it.

2 Comments »

  1. fabulous post idea. well done!

    Comment by mikesgotnothin — February 7, 2008 @ 11:58 pm |Reply

  2. mhmmmm me and B we are probably the same person! you and those apple bottom jeans!

    Comment by L B — February 8, 2008 @ 1:05 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

