this is me now

February 19, 2008

Quiet in the Library

Filed under: library — by heatherdc @ 6:36 pm

An afternoon in the library will leave you with than just the information from the books. For those who don’t know, this is my part-time job. I sit at a desk, call myself a “Reference Assistant”, do some homework, and observe.

I’ve been doing this for two years now, and there are many boring moments. But to make up for those, some people (unknowingly) lend me their story.

One thing you might need to know is that our school library is the 12th largest library in the WORLD. That’s right, it’s huge. I work on the third floor of one section. There’s an elevator lobby about 20 yards from my desk. People love to sit in there and talk on their phones, which has never made sense to me, since it’s all tile and everything echoes. Granted, there are two lounge chairs in there, that seem to look appealing to all cell-phone users. We used to have a sign up that said “No Cell Phone Zone” because of this, but it wasn’t stopping anybody. Especially not today.

A girl walked out of the computer lab section and into this hallway. She was responding quickly and defensively to whatever the other person was saying to her. As she stormed in there, I knew this would last for a while. I was right. After about a minute I decided this was an argument with a (current? very-recently-Ex?) boyfriend. It went on. And on. And on. This chick was not happy. Lies, cheating, former arguments, her friends, his friends. They were all involved. They all had opinions. She was RIGHT. Jerk! This I know, because I had no choice but to hear alllll of it. I do feel bad, but when she got off the phone and calmly walked back into the computer lab she revealed no look of remorse. Moving on.

A guy came up to the desk to report that the Men’s Restroom had urinals overflowing. Ummm, EW. Thanks for the report. Off to tell the boss, because, EW. The janitors arrived in about five minutes to check out the situation. Apparently somebody “vandalized” the restroom. Grotesquely. We won’t go into details, but according to him, this same thing has happened multiple times since Christmas Break. In other words, somebody has time during the week to stop and think “Hey, I should go mess up that bathroom. Again.” Janitors are not happy. I am grossed out, because I watched said person walk in and out. I wonder if he had a little grin on his face when he left. EWWWW.

Every hour I walk around and do a “count” of how many people are in here. Around the perimeter of the floor we have individual desks that people sit and work at. One of them is currently inhabited by a girl who seems to have brought her pantry along with her. She has been here for at least 4+ hours. The desks have edges on both sides (to kind of close you in) and a little shelf in between that sits a little bit above eye-level. She has this shelf set-up. On one side there are 3 bottles: water, propel, something that’s empty. On the other side are snacks: a bag of Cheez-Its, gum, skittles, a Snicker’s wrapper. Next to her there is a bag of carrots, a can of Coke, and a disappearing sandwich. I hope she is surviving back there.

Yes, these are the things that entertain me on Tuesday afternoons.

1 Comment »

  1. You will never run out of material to blog about while working in a library… Astounding, isn’t it?

    Comment by Woeful — February 19, 2008 @ 7:14 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

