this is me now

March 13, 2008

Watch out for this Crazy Spring Break-er

Filed under: college,family,home,spring break — by heatherdc @ 1:47 pm

I leave tomorrow to head back to the lovely (cold) state of PA, meaning I am wrapping up “Spring Break-2008”. 

I won’t be leaving with any hangovers, all-nighters, bankruptcy from bar tabs, or anything of the sort. I still have money in my bank account and only a few new purchases to travel back with. Instead of having the assumed College Spring Break experience, I have, as usual, done my own thing. My first spring break was spent showing my new (at the time) best friend (and future roommate to this day) the lovely Southwest. She had never been down here and it was so much fun. The next year I was at Disney, and last year I spent it with Jack at his apartment, lounging around and taking a weekend in Chicago.

This year, I spent the first weekend down south with the siblings, which did include the day trip to Mexico.  So I guess I did at least one typical SB thing.  But more importantly, I got to see my little sis all grown up and starting her college life. I got to spend another night hanging out with my brother and his buddies, sippin’ on drinks and playing beer pong at their house.  And I soaked in the fact that everybody calls us “triplets” because, despite 2 year age differences, we all look so much alike. I love that.

A friend of mine was there for the weekend too, so we rode up to F-town (home) together.  I was a little nervous about it being awkward at times, not because of our friendship, but the sole fact that 6 hours is a long time to be in the car with one other person.  Yet, we had a lot to catch up on, and we pick up right where we left off. Again emphasizing that I love roadtrips. Although I could have done without hearing “Low” (aka “apple bottom jeans…..” you know the words) FIVE times. Ew.

The rest of my break has consisted of long morning runs, reading books, beating my dad at cards (rare!!), renting chick-flicks with my mom, cocktails and cooking some delicious dinners and brownies! I’ve done a lot Less homework than I originally planned, but wouldn’t trade my sitting around and napping for that. Yesterday we went out to lunch, and got pedicures and went to Target. I don’t think it gets any better…

Today I’ve been playing travel agent and booking flights for my entire family to PA for my graduation, followed by a little excursion down to Orlando. After about two hours, everything is done and the trip is planned. Gooood stuff.

And now, rested up and ready (sad) to finish the semester, I end my last Spring break.  Tonight will be drinks and a movie with a friend, followed by the packing that I should be doing right now. Then it’s back to the college life!

1 Comment »

  1. Enjoy the last few weeks of school. It’ll go way too fast!

    Comment by Mike — March 17, 2008 @ 8:53 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

