this is me now

March 17, 2008

A Bit of a Bookworm

Filed under: about me,books books books — by heatherdc @ 11:51 pm

Nothing beats curling up on your bed, with a warm blanket, soft pillows, and a good book.  I love the feeling of just having to read page after page, being totally involved in an affair with the story the words are giving you. The feeling of not wanting the last page to come, because you aren’t ready for it to be over.

I have a confession: I am a bookworm. Time and schedule permitting, I am always reading something.  My mom is quick to recommend books that she likes, and send them on over. I am quick to buy books from authors that I have enjoyed in the past, or books topping the “NYT Best Sellers” list.  Fortunately for me, between my mom’s taste and my knack for the entertaining ones, I’ve read a lot of great books.

They keep me busy in the summer, make plane rides go a Lot faster, and keep me sane during the semester. I always read before I go to bed, and love to sit outside on a nice day with a book and hours to waste.

Right now, after being stubborn for over a year, I am finally reading “The Kite Runner”. For those of you who’ve read it, I don’t need to say anymore. I’m involved. I read on the bus to, and from, campus today. I read on my afternoon break before review sessions, meetings and work. I plan on reading as soon as I get back and before I go to bed. Yes, it’s that good.  If you haven’t already, go get it. It’s eye-opening, difficult, grotesque at parts, endearing, well-written, and it keeps you coming back in awe and curiosity.

Sometimes I am more inclined to read the playful romantic stories,  “chick lit”, or comedies.  Sometimes I go for “The Confessions of Georgia Nicolson”, which I absolutely adore and have read many of them multiple times. (Stories of a tween British girl and her many crushes, adventures, crazy cat and loco-little sis. They’re hilarious!!! Don’t judge me).

A few that I’ve read and would recommend to Anybody:

“The Lovely Bones” Alice Sebold

“Nineteen Minutes” Jodi Piccoult

“The Plain Truth” Jodi Piccoult

“The Glass Castle” Jeannette Walls

“The Giver” Lois Lowry

“The Kite Runner” Khaled Hosseini

“Harry Potter” J.K. Rowling
(Yes.  ALL OF THEM. )

 

Any recommendations?? I’m open to anything, let me know!

3 Comments »

  1. I heart reading. Just wish I had more time to do it. I have several Jodi Plcoult books and a ton of others sitting on my bookshelf that I can’t ever get to. Some day…

    Comment by Sassy — March 19, 2008 @ 1:08 am |Reply

  2. I, too, loved The Glass Castle and the Lovely Bones. I read Kite Runner, too but it didn’t stay with me. I’ve read so many lately that nothing is coming TOP of mind at the moment but wanted to reply… I did like Atonement and just watched the movie – still love it (ya never know?!) I’m overwhelmed by what Picoult book to read these days (TOO many) so I have yet to try one.

    I’m in the middle of The Uncommon Reader (120 pages 🙂 ) and The Memory Keepers Daughter – both GOOD. You might enjoy Water for Elephants? Eat,Pray,Love is good but either hate it or love it.

    Comment by CuriousC — April 7, 2008 @ 9:51 pm |Reply

  3. Try Stephanie Meyer, yes her books are classified YA (young adult) but you won’t be let down. Her last one has just come out and it was huge. If you research it at all you may think it’s not your thing but it’s like Jane Austen but without the hither, the what nots and the sentences as long as paragraphs. Start with Twilight it’s the beginning of the Saga and I have to say it’s really good. I too am a bookworm at times and I couldn’t put these books down.

    Comment by Jessilwow — August 11, 2008 @ 10:08 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

