this is me now

March 25, 2008

High School meets College Life

Filed under: college,visitors! — by heatherdc @ 11:48 pm

One week from today I’ll be picking up two of my best friends from high school, A and L. They are traveling all the way from the Southwest to the lovely Pennsylvania…for the very first time. It’s always been one of those things, “You should definitely come visit me some time, it’d be So Much Fun!” The kind of things you don’t ever actually think will go through, because it requires…well, a lot of effort. Planning. Money. Time. But they’re coming!!

I am SO excited to have them here. Out of about five of us who were friends in high school, we all still keep in touch, see each other on holiday breaks, and always pick up right where we left off. I don’t talk to them regularly while I’m at school, maybe once a month or so, but as soon as we’re together it’s just as comfortable as it always has been. I love that.

Everyone but me stuck around the general area after we graduated, going to school in-state or at least within driving distance. I ventured over here, and missed out on the random weekend get-togethers at dorms/apartments/houses throughout the last four years. It’s quite a trip to get all the way up here, so while I have visited them and them in their “College life”, they’ve never been here. It should be interesting….

Of course we’ve all changed, or grown-up, or whatever, in the last few years. I know that my life here is very different than what it would have been had I stayed closer to home. I was generally the “shy” one in the group during high school, and for whatever reason, I decided to come over here on my own and experience the East coast for 4 years. I know it has changed a lot about me, all for the better.

I changed in ways that all college freshman do. I realized I had to be outgoing to meet people, and I had to get involved to make 40,000 students not seem like 100,000,000. I learned that it’s easy to strike up conversations with strangers with just a few simple questions. When my next door neighbor walked in my room and said “Hi I’m Em, are you going out? Can I come with you?”, I said “Sure!”. And from that night on we were never alone. And she’s been my roommate and best friend ever since. Then I decided to do an internship and live in Florida for a semester. And that’s how I met LB, and our other roommate S.

And this is my PennState life.

I can’t wait for them to see it. I want them to see Beaver Stadium, and Old Main, and brick sidewalks, and the downtown area full of bar-after-bar and a few restaurants and shops in between. I’m fully prepared for a weekend of ‘touristy’ PSU stuff, mixed with plenty of drinks, food, lounging around, pictures, a few more drinks, and lots of stories.

Oh, State College, I hope you’re ready. The desert girls are takin’ over.

2 Comments »

  1. oh shitty. i hope it as at least sunny for them! regardless there will be mucho drinks!

    Comment by L B — April 1, 2008 @ 12:15 am |Reply

  2. […] I said earlier, I can’t wait to show off this beautiful campus. Warm/sunny/spring weather or not, this place […]

    Pingback by Airport Role Reversal « this is me now — April 1, 2008 @ 11:32 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

