this is me now

April 21, 2008

As “fate” would have it….

Filed under: college,seniors — by heatherdc @ 11:41 pm

The class only met once a week, on Monday, from 4:30-5:30. There was little motivation to ever attend, aside from having to sign in. It was usually nice and sunny outside, the perfect time of day for a run, or laziness on the couch.

It had been three straight weeks of Informational presentations, each one featuring a different Internship program. We had begun to hear the same thing over and over; clinical rotation, food-service rotation, community rotation, 10-month program, etc etc etc. There was no reason to think this one would be any different. On top of that, it was in Maryland. I wasn’t looking to live in MD. I never thought I would live in MD (especially not after this disaster, ehhhhh). In fact, I thought I was ready to be back on the West coast. Therefore, MD would clearly be a step in the wrong direction. Right?

Using my better judgement, I went to class….

And it’s a good thing I did! I learned that this particular program had a special rotation. This set it apart from the norm, and would be the deciding factor in becoming my #1 Choice. For 6 weeks the Interns learn about Information Management & Communication. They get to take technology classes to learn how to be super savvy in this ever-evolving world of computers, html, CSS, Microsoft Office, etc. Basically, these people realize that without the knowledge to use technology as a tool for education, you will fall behind in this web-based society. Hello, perfect match!

I put my package together, wrote a kick-ass cover letter (seriously, it was pretty awesome), and had a good feeling about everything. I got the call, scheduled the interview,-and even bought a fabulous pair of shoes-all in one day. I drove there, did my thing (did NOT get lost!), and felt good about the interview. I talked about blogging (clearly I love technology!), writing, etc. I loved it. They loved it.

On February 15 it was all set in stone. Applications were in, and now we could only do one thing: Wait.

……………………

Yesterday felt longer than the last 2.5 months of waiting combined, and multiplied by 100. As of 1:01 a.m. we could sign on to the website and learn our fate.

………………….

At 1:25 a.m. I still couldn’t get on because the server was too busy. Cue-Crazy Panic Attack.

…………………

At 1:30 a.m it let me through. I signed on. I clicked on “View Match Results”.

“You have been matched with _____ in MD.”

Cue- rapid heart beat and HUGE relief and numerous phone calls and jumping around!!!!

………………….

And to think, I wasn’t even going to go to class that day……

2 Comments »

  1. YAY you know how happy i am for you…celebration tomorrow night at the sleazy babbbbby

    Comment by L B — April 23, 2008 @ 8:15 pm |Reply

  2. I AM SO EXCITED TO HEAR!!!!
    MD will be great, it’s pretty there… for the most part!
    Yay- GO YOU!

    Comment by Jen — April 24, 2008 @ 12:37 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

