this is me now

June 3, 2008

Day 1 on the Job

Filed under: home,jobs,working — by heatherdc @ 12:10 am

I spent about two hours today doing paperwork, giving fingerprints and blood (MMR test), and getting a TB skin test (ewwww). Luckily the little bubble went away, and I’m hoping that means I do Not have TB. But thanks for checking hospital-people.

I’m a little scared to actually be working in a hospital for the first time. I know it has to happen eventually, but it’s weeeird. I’ll be around sick people, all the time. Some really sick people, some healing people, some little people, some old people. That’s a lot of people. At least I’ll be delivering them food, so they’ll (hopefully) be happy to see me when I waltz into their room unannounced on a daily basis.

I realized something today–every job I’ve ever had has been for a decided period of time. Does that sound weird? I mean, I’ve always known when it will end. All my jobs have been one of three things–a summer job, an internship, or a school-job (only lasting until graduation). The longest I’ve ever been at one job is two years, and that was at the library. When they hired me (right before our Junior year) I remember them asking what year I was….and then saying “Oh good! We’ll have you for about two years…”….and I had a little mini panic attack in my head. Two YEARS?! That seemed sooo long to me at the time.

Here I am, yet again, starting a ‘summer’ job. There’s a clear start, with an end in sight. I know there’s not much I can do about this. I do have to start ‘school’ again in the Fall, and that’s just how it is. I just wonder….when I have to go out, and get that Real job, what will happen inside my head? Will the idea of no time-line–of the job being “indefinite”–cause mini-panic attacks over and over? Will I get restless?

I know (or..umm….I hope!) I’m not the only graduate who feels this way.

And until I actually have to face this, I’m going head first into Job #1 post-college. Wish me luck!

2 Comments »

  1. Yes, you will get a little restless and maybe even have a few mini panic attacks. I still have a moderate case of studentitis, but perhaps that’s because I now work full time on a University campus? šŸ™‚ Plus, I always knew I’d be going back to school, I just haven’t figured what for. The indefinite, no timeline job can be a bit scary, but the thing is, if you don’t like it, you can move on. Good luck with the new jobaroo!

    Comment by Sassy — June 3, 2008 @ 12:27 am |Reply

  2. I’m in my first job post-college and realizing I like having jobs for a short period of time so it’s always something new and exciting. I hate getting stuck in a rut.

    Comment by Playful Professional — June 3, 2008 @ 11:40 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

