this is me now

June 4, 2008

Four Tens, instead of Five Eights?

Filed under: jobs,Summer times — by heatherdc @ 12:44 am

Today I barely survived a  deathly boring 8 hours of Orientation, and “traditions”, and policies, and procedures, and safety, and Core values, and ahhhhhh. We were stuck in one room for breakfast, four hours of presentations, lunch, and four more hours of presentations. Oh, and it wasn’t air conditioned. Oh, AND we are in the desert. It was really fun. Really. It was.

No it wasn’t.

I was actually not a pleasant person at 4 o’clock when it was over. Not. at. all. The only interesting pieces of information presented to me were pictures of the brand new section of the hospital (whoa, gorgeous! nice work architects and construction-people! Kudos to you.). And some good stories here and there of how the oh-so-wonderful staff have used the Core Values to make some magic happen. In all honesty, good stories.

Anyway. It’s over and I made it. I was one of two summer interns, and we were among about 15 other people there who were “permanent hires”. They tried to tell us that we had to come back to the same room tomorrow at 9 a.m. to fill out paper work and I almost had to get violent. Noooo way. Turns out, we the “interns” actually didn’t need to come back, but need to report to our departments tomorrow at 8 a.m. Whew, close call.

So, when I got home I called my department to get some details. Well turns out that they were wrong too. Instead, I have to be there at SEVEN a.m. Ehhhhh. That’s very early. Oh, and I work until 5:30. And my response (inside my head, obviously. No need to freak out via phone call…) was….umm…whaaaat?!

I happily professionally responded “Oh, OK. Yah! That’s fine!” Then was told that I could wear scrubs, which honestly makes everything better. Because who doesn’t want to wear scrubs?! It’s like getting to wear comfortable pajamas with sneakers to work every day. And while I do like looking snazzy in cute “business casual”, nobody can pass up the opportunity to wear comfy scrubs. Seriously. Awesome.

I had to ask….”So, will my schedule be 7-5:30 every day?”. Here’s what I got…

“Oh, no. On Thursday you’ll come in from 9-7:30.”

Okay, I see. 10 hour days it is then. And apparently on Thursdays I get to sleep in until about 7:30 like a normal person. Oh, and I get to wear scrubs! (trying to focus on positive things here….)

At first I wasn’t excited about the 10-hr day starting at seven in the morning. So…four ten hour days, instead of five eights….

Then, the more I thought about it, the more I like the idea of three day weekends, every weekend. And a week that only consists of four days. I think I can handle this.

At least I’ll be able to catch “What Not to Wear” once a week, right?  And lay on the deck in the afternoon reading (and sipping on tasty drinks) for three whole afternoons every weekend. Alright, at least I have time for my priorities.

2 Comments »

  1. I think I’d take this schedule any day. I would love to work a little longer for four days and have an entire day off. Yep I’m very jealous.

    Comment by Playful Professional — June 4, 2008 @ 9:29 am |Reply

  2. Scrubs?!?!?!?!?
    I am SO JEAL!
    Even though I love to express myself through fashion.. I get so jealous every time I am in Starbucks and a scrub wearing patron comes in. I always think how comfy that would be- and also not having to fumble around in my closet every morning- and also how it would make dressing on the weekends even more fun since I don’t get to do it during the week! YES, potivie factor- FOR SURE!

    Comment by Jen — June 5, 2008 @ 9:40 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

