this is me now

June 4, 2008

Knock, Knock….It’s Dietary!

Filed under: jobs,weird — by heatherdc @ 11:46 pm

That’s what I said…all day..as I wondered around the hospital, peeking into patients’ rooms and asking them:

“A few quick questions for the dietitian.”

Apparently the position that was described to me last month as “well…delivering some meals, maybe talking to the patients…you know…” (yes, great description, I know), is actually more like “well, walking into the patient’s rooms all morning, and getting the ones you missed in the afternoon, and taking phone meal-orders, and working with our computer system.” That would have been a MUCH more accurate description. In fact, it would have been right on the dot.

I hesitated at first. It has been so long since I’ve been in a hospital, luckily. Most people recognize my last name, thanks to my Dad, and assume that I know my way around and that I’m just so familiar with everything. Wrong. Wrong wrong wrong. It’s not exactly the type of place you meet up for a family dinner or a night out. In fact, the last time I was there was in high school–one of my best friends was a baseball Ump for the younger leagues and got a line-drive to the Jaw. Ehhhh that wasn’t fun–and since then they have added a Huuuuge new (beautiful!!!) section and it looks completely different.

Anyway! Where was I. Oh, patient’s rooms. Walking in. Uninvited, and mostly likely very unwanted. First of all, when you to wear a unisex gown that everybody knows has nothing underneath, ummm….well, that’s just a little embarrassing. In all honesty, I just felt like I was invading their space. They are sick, they have doctors and nurses in and out, they have nothing to do in that little room all day but lay there and maybe watch some TV here and there, or chat with some family.  My attention span would battle me to my death.

On top of everything else, they are sick. They are vulnerable and exposed. And here I come, waltzing in like it’s nothing and just asking a few questions. I realize this is completely harmless, and they likely think nothing of it, but it just felt weird. By the end of the day I was a little more desensitized to it. Good thing, because I have to do it all again tomorrow.

Alright , on another note, there are some pretty cool people hangin’ out in those rooms. I met one Korean lady, who at first seemed so fragile and ill, but as she woke up a little bit and answered some questions I found out something pretty cool…..she shares a birthday with me. And she was born in 1931.

And one guy said that he was so impressed by the hospital food and service he’d rather just come live here and eat all day. ( Little bit of a stretch, but we’ll take it buddy! )

2 Comments »

  1. Aw- it sounds like you are doing great with the position! I used to volunteer at my local hospital and it was actually the most rewarding thing ever… peopl really want to talk and need someone to just dish with… it’s a great thing. I am sure everyone enjoys speaking with you, could you imagine people that don’t ever have visitors.. so sad 😦 And lonely 😦

    Sounds like you are doing well though! 😉 Goooo you!
    I’ve been slacking on e-mail.. one coming soon though! Swear!

    Comment by Jen — June 5, 2008 @ 9:36 am |Reply

  2. Hi! I visit a nursing home and it does get more comfortable the more you are there – but it can feel so ‘nosy’. I still hate to wake up the darlings…

    So did you not drive cross country? oh well. and I love the Wizard of Oz movie, too. It’s been a long time since I’ve seen it though.

    Comment by CuriousC — June 5, 2008 @ 11:35 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

