this is me now

June 16, 2008

Oh, I’m on a Roll….

Filed under: books books books,summer reading — by heatherdc @ 1:29 am

Two books in two weeks. You could say I’ve been a bit of a bookworm lately. Just a bit.

Before I had even finished my last book, my Mom had made her usual trip to the Library and picked up a new one for me. Usually after one of her “picks” I’ll choose something for myself, because every once in a while I love the “Shopaholic” or “Something Borrowed” kind of story (by the way, read both of those too. They’re funny/entertaining/chick-books.).

Her next selection for me was the latest Jodi Piccoult book….and if you’ve ever read a book by Jodi, you’ll read the next one in a heartbeat. As soon as I finished the last book, I picked this one right up. It was about 11 p.m., I wanted to read a few chapters before I went to sleep to see what it was about.

The thing is, with Jodi’s books, you usually can’t just read “a few” chapters. Well… I can’t. Almost immediately you are hooked, whether you like it or not. And you have to know what happens. And you can’t stand to not know. So, despite the fact that I had to be awake at 5:45 a.m. for work, I kept turning the pages until about one in the morning. Uhh, oops.

I read in the morning before work, on my breaks at work, and as soon as I got home from work. I read in the car on the way to the mall, and I read out on the deck enjoying the sunset after dinner. This one was hard to read before I fell asleep, as there are some….well…”things” that stuck with me well after the book was closed and the lights were off. Not that this stopped me, but just a little warning.

All of the books I’ve read by Jodi P. have involved a somewhat controversial issue, a trial in court, and a little love twist.  You would think they become somewhat repetitive in this sense–I thought that for a little while too.  I thought I’d get sick of reading about lawyers battling it out, and wondering whether or not I really should feel sorry for the “criminal’ as well as the victim, and marveling at how each character can really take a hold on you.  I thought there were only so many webs you could weave from a common core.

The first 30+ pages are graphic, stomach-wrenching and have you thinking you already know where this will go. I thought this one might be too hard to read. I didn’t know if I was up for it, but I also knew I wouldn’t be able to just not finish it.

Needless to say, my opinion was quick to change. She did her research (as always), she told the story through many points of view (as always), and I was hooked (…..as always).

Change of Heart

by Jodi Piccoult

It’s the story of…

Shay Bourne-an inmate on death row for a double murder.
June Nealon-the victim of the double murder and mother of a young girl.
Father Michael-the priest, spiritual advisor, etc.
Maggie Bloom-an attorney, and a self-conscious 20-something.
Lucius DeFresne-an innate also convicted of murder and an AIDS sufferer.

…and how they all affect one another’s lives, stories, and possible deaths.

And it comes highly recommended by yours truly.

2 Comments »

  1. The only Jodi Picoult book that I didn’t love was Plain Truth, but I’m definitely looking forward to picking this one up soon.

    Comment by Playful Professional — June 16, 2008 @ 11:36 am |Reply

  2. I agree, Jodi P is sooo good. As for my summer reads, I just read Friday Night Knitting Club by Kate Jacobs and now reading Bitter is the New Black by Jen Lancaster.

    Comment by Sassy — June 16, 2008 @ 12:16 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

