this is me now

July 8, 2008

That itch you can’t scratch….

Filed under: clothes,days off,shopping — by heatherdc @ 1:33 am

It’s been a while since I’ve gone shopping. Or even had time to think about shopping. Or had the opportunity to actually do some real shopping.

As soon as I start to get actual money saved up, it seems as though I just want to spend it. Ehhhh.

On that note, does anybody else feel like all they do on their days off is spend money?? Hmmm, not good.

I’m getting all kinds of restless with my clothes, and there is literally NO decent shopping to speak of within a 100 mile radius. I’m not kidding. We have two department stores in our mall (Sears does not count. No no no)….Dillards and JC Pennys. Not that these aren’t usually decent stores, but umm….not here. Here it’s like the C-list stuff that the other stores didn’t sell/want/need. At least that’s my take on it. Probably not too far off.

The closest “real” shopping is in a city about 3 hours away. And uhhh, with two SUVs around here, nobody is lookin to pay for the gas to drive three hours, just to spend money, and then drive back. Well….I’m not….not with the budget I’ll be on next year (daaaaangit).

Anyway. My madre and I had to go out to the mall today, and I wanted to stop at a cheap jewelry store to see if I could find anything. I just had that ‘itch’, I wanted something new, something fun, something I probably don’t need but want to be excited about anyway. Even if it costs $5, I dooon’t care. But guess what, I didn’t see anything. Not. one. thing. Gah.

So then we went to Target…..always a sure-thing that I’ll find something there! And guess what? The only things I bought…? A card, gum, and Hershey’s dark chocolate kisses (not to be overlooked, they are deeeelicious). Ehhhhh.

Obviously, something had to be done. And that something involved the internet, searching, and page browsing. Oooh yes, who could forget about ONLINE shopping?! All the great stores, brands, categories, sales, etc that you need. So wonderful.

Thanks to the loveliness that is Forever21.com, I have 9 purchases coming to me in 5-10 business days, for less than $70. (can you handle all those numbers? Yesssss). And that includes shipping. Goooo me! I gotta admit, I was pretty satisfied with myself. And pretty damn excited to finally have some new items to look forward to.

A few of which included these lovely things…..

(Jen! I totally thought of you when I saw this scarf! 🙂 )

Aaand a few other things. But I didnt’ feel like saving all the pictures and uploading them. But I’m exciteddd for some new stuff!

(afterthought:: I wonder how many people will find this post during a Google-search for vagasil? Uhhh, sorry if I have mislead you.)

2 Comments »

  1. I live in Seattle and have tons of shopping opportunities and I still shop online all the time. I love the scarf – I’m in desperate need of a summer scarf!

    Comment by megkathleen — July 8, 2008 @ 11:51 am |Reply

  2. This post cracks me up!
    I loved it.. and I have felt the same way… it’s already that in-between shopping in stores.. all summer items are 70% off when it’s 100 degrees outside- and everything summer related is picked over in stores… and they are already putting out jeans, and plaid wool skirts and tights online! It’s like- AHHHHHH!!!

    Why do they do that! But, I’ve had a shopping itch lately too- and let me tell you- your Target purchases made me laugh… oh Target… you are so hit or miss. 🙂

    And YES, I totally heart that scarf- we’re scarf sistas! 🙂

    hehe! xo

    Comment by Jen — July 14, 2008 @ 11:27 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

