this is me now

July 11, 2008

The week-long hangover

Filed under: learning,random — by heatherdc @ 12:51 am

I went out last night with one of my friends. She was feelin’ a Happy hour adventure at Chili’s, and seeing as today marked the start of my ‘work week’ I figured I should take the opportunity to go out for a little bit. Despite the fact that the thought of a drink still repulses me. Gah, 4th of July, what have you done to me….

In my head I’m thinking, hmmmm….does the half price still count if I only order a glass of tonic? How weird would tonic taste by itself? Will I forever be the person who goes to happy hour and only gets one drink?

No. Probably not. But seriouslyyy, something was in that fifth that is not sitting well with me. Fifths of vodka are most definitely not meant to be almost finished by one girl. No no no. Ew ew eeewwwww.

I haven’t had this attitude towards drinking since my freshman year of college. The first time that Em & I were introduced to the concept of an ‘open bar’….at the young age of 19.  And she had to pick me up in the morning, wearing a borrowed pair of sweatpants under her dress. While I walked home still in a dress & heels, in a fresh four inches of snow. By about seven the next night my toes had thawed out and I think I was finally sober again. And totally thought “omg, i’m neeever drinking again.”. Yes, well, lesson learned huh?

Anyway. I guess I could just call the ‘having one drink during happy hour’ being responsible, since I did have work today at 7 a.m. Yup, we’ll go with that.

Next weekend, after the race, I told my parents that we were going to set out on a mission. Find a bar/restaurant. Somewhere to get dolled up for, have a tasty drink, and enjoy a deliiicious dinner after a good long race. Doesn’t that sound like a good night? Oh yes, definitely. This is only considered a “mission” because we’ll be in Utah. In a very small town, that just happens to be right along a scenic highway (perfect setting for a race.). Still clueless? It’s umm, well, very religious. Not so into the whole ‘drinking’ scene. Puts a little damper on the plans.

And then here comes along this current sober-ness (not such bad timing though, you really shouldn’t drink leading up the race….)….and all of a sudden I could care less what we do next Saturday night. Well, that’s not completely true. I REALLY want to see the new Batman movie (“The Dark Knight”). Anybody with me? Seriously. Can’t. Wait.

I’m two weeks away from my 22nd birthday. If I haven’t ‘recovered’ by then, we might have an issue. Not cool Smirnoff, go intoxicate  (and nauseate) somebody else.

2 Comments »

  1. Oh, I remember those nights. I will never ever be able to drink tequila again. Except every once in a while in a very tasty margarita.

    Comment by megkathleen — July 11, 2008 @ 12:36 pm |Reply

  2. Hi Hi Hi!
    Oh man… not such a good night on the fourth weekend- huh?
    That was how I felt after the bachelorette.. even thinking about tasting any sort of mixed drinks made my stomach swirl…

    But… on Friday Kyle and I are taking off work to go see the Batman movie.. yes, we’re nerds.. but it gave us a good reason to take the day off.. have lunch and see a good movie.. 🙂

    Are you going Friday too?

    Comment by Jen — July 14, 2008 @ 11:20 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

