this is me now

July 17, 2008

Race time! Ups & Downs

Filed under: 1/2 marathon,Road trip!,training — by heatherdc @ 10:47 am

Tomorrow afternoon we’re headin’ to Utah! I went on one last leisure run this morning; slow pace, not too far, beeeautiful morning, and fun new songs on my playlist. Perfect.

As I was trekkin’ along, my mind was workin’ away. I was contemplating all the ups and downs of the race…

UP: Throughout the course, through the hills and up the roads, we’ll actually go down about 2,000 ft.
DOWN: The race starts at 6 a.m. That means I have to be up by about 4:30 (shuttle at 5). Ehhhh.

UP: I get four days off, Friday-Monday!! The first weekend I’ve been off since the middle of June. Gah.
DOWN: As beautiful as the state of Utah is, its also a little anti-um-special beverages. After the race we are invited to join a “Country Bear Festival”, with food and live music and probably square-dancing or something of the sort. And they’ll be selling homemade rootbeer. Hmmm. The first time I read that, I read a little too fast and got all kinds of excited. Yum! Fresh brewed beer in Utah! Uhh, no.

UP: We came up with a little remedy. Exit small-town Utah and go to the nearest city for the night. It’ll be a lovely night of dinner & drinks with the parentals. And I’m packing like three pairs of heels, because you just never know. Plus, I haven’t worn heels in like a month. My feet are crying.
DOWN: This does mean that after running 13 miles, I’ll be spending about 2 1/2 hrs in a car. Although the thought of stretching out with a pillow and blanket in the backseat sounds greeeat, I just hope my muscles don’t tighten up. That would noot be good.

UP: The race is in two days!!!!
UP: I’ll be running along a beautiful old highway, in the scenic desert, with the early morning sun shining on me. Ah, perfect.
UP: Roadtriiiip! It’s a lot of driving, but I looove roadtrips. And I haven’t traveled since May. whoa.
UP: One week from today it’s my birthday!! I know that doesn’t go with the ‘theme’ of the list, but it’s still an Up. Fun!
UP: I think I’m done with this list now.

1 Comment »

  1. I’m very impressed – I really want to run a half marathon one day, but I’m very bad at keeping up with regular training. So I’m curious – how long did you train for it and how many really long runs are you doing prior to the race?

    Comment by megkathleen — July 17, 2008 @ 12:43 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

