this is me now

July 23, 2008

All in the family

Filed under: family,learning,running,things that happen at the gym — by heatherdc @ 1:06 am

What I hear from him:

“I can only run a mile and a half. After 15 minutes I’m tired. That’s it.”

What I tell him:

“It’s all mental, you could do more if you really wanted to, and I know you’re capable of it.”

What I see in him:

Intelligent, great golfer, a joke-maker, an intimidating card player, and physically fit.

My Dad always says he doesn’t know how I do it. How can somebody run for two hours?? (I keep saying; how can they run for four?! I will do marathons eventually, but aaahhhh!)
I always say, if he was training and he had that goal, he’d get there. He’d totally be able to do it.

He doesn’t believe me.

So, I made a proposition. Because I remember being there. I remember thinking I could only run for two miles, and OMG that was soo long and hard. And it was. At the time.
I told him I wanted to go running with him. We’d start out with 1.5 miles, or 1.25 miles, or whatever he felt comfortable doing. Of course the one night I want to take him to the track it starts raining. Seriously? I live in the desert. I’ve been home for two months and it has rained like four times, maybe. And tonight we have 25 mph winds and rain. Surprise, surprise.
So we head over to the gym instead. He goes there often enough, mostly to lift weights, but that’s beside the point. I find two treadmills side-by-side and we both hop on. We do a two mile warm up and then get started. I told him to set it at whatever pace he feel comfortable, and we’ll go for 1.25 miles. He gives me the look, but I know he’ll do it.
14 minutes and 1.5 miles later, we’re done. He did it! He went further than he was expecting, even picking up the pace towards the end. And this is just the beginning…..

Of course, after we ran he made me lift weights. Compromise. Gah.

For the first time, I’m learning how to teach. If he can get me to play golf and actually enjoy it, I can get him to run. Just keepin’ things in the family. By next week we’re aiming for two miles. I don’t want to burn him out, but hey-this guy can play 27+ holes of a golf in one day, kickin ass and takin’ names. And let me tell you (Now I know from experience…), that is NO easy task. Two miles is just another par 4 hole that he’ll conquer with a birdie putt.

2 Comments »

  1. I think that everyone can do it (well maybe not everyone) if they put their mind to it and train. Running really is a mental game. Nice job!!

    Comment by Playful Professional — July 23, 2008 @ 11:36 pm |Reply

  2. you WILL be able to do a marathon someday ๐Ÿ™‚ if you can do a half, you’ll be TOTALLY FINE doing a whole sometime! I wanted to train to do one sometime this spring, but I’m really not so sure it’ll be able to happen, with time, weather, schedules, etc. I really struggle running outside in the winter unless I have someone to go with (hint, hint!). And I’m not going to want to pay $$$ for a gym membership. Sooo… hopefully we can go on a few runs sometime! As of now, i’m as out of shape as I’ve ever been, so give me some time ๐Ÿ™‚

    bye!
    edith

    Comment by Edith — July 24, 2008 @ 5:51 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

