this is me now

August 5, 2008

Time is winding down

Filed under: days off,weekends — by heatherdc @ 1:03 am

My last two weeks of work are here. This is it. I have work through Thursday and then….drum roll Pleeease…I have the weekend off!!

We hosted a little dinner here tonight for my Dad and his office people. They have someone new coming in this Fall who’s visiting right now, so it was a little “Welcome” thing. I had to bring in my friend A. as my buffer. Otherwise I would’ve been the only person under 30, and umm, a little bored. I may be in the health care field, but I’m no expert like them. So instead, A. came over early and we made ourselves a little drink to start the night. Mostly keeping to ourselves and getting all excited about the fact that for the first time in about two months we are BOTH free this weekend.

There are maybe uhhh, three? bars, in this place. One has been shut down twice, one may or may not have a liquor license right now (we have to look into that), and one has a karaoke night and an 18+ night with a live band playing Country (yah.)….and that’s all you need to know about that. So basically when we decide to go out for “drinks” it means we are relaxed at the restaurant bars.

It doesn’t take long to figure out what I miss about the East coast, despite the wonderfulness that is desert sunshine and warm weather. You can’t have it all…

We still have plans for the weekend, despite the minimal options. We still have a good time, hittin’ up happy hours and the local brewery. Three nights in a row of NO 6 a.m. shifts, and doin’ what we want. Crazy things are happenin over here. Hurryyyy up Thursdsay!

1 Comment »

  1. Eek! I lived in a small town for five years so I feel for ya, but at least you have a brewery! Those are always fun.

    Comment by megkathleen — August 5, 2008 @ 2:42 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

