this is me now

August 7, 2008

Because I get distracted…and there were Kids

Filed under: being sporty,running — by heatherdc @ 7:23 am

Seriously, who knew that 8:30 p.m. is apparently ‘play time’ at the track? Did you know that?? I did Not know that.

I got off work late, but did promise my Dad we’d go running tonight. Lately the desert has been throwing us some serious early evening thunderstorms. I’m not just whining because I haven’t seen a real rain in months, this is for real. All lightning and thunder and pouring rain real (for like five minutes. but you neeeever know!). So it looked like we’d have to hit up the gym. Which is so not desirable because uughhh treadmills aren’t fun and it’s really humid in there. Not good.

The storm checked out early tonight (thank youuuu), and we ended up just going to the track. Which I’m also not crazy about for real runs. I either get bored, or quickly distracted. If I’m bored, the laps crawwwwl by at an unbearable pace and 2 miles feels like 6. If I’m distracted, I lose count and get all kinds of frustrated because for the life of me I can Not remember what lap I’m on. Ehhhh. To it’s credit, the track is great for intervals/timing/etc. And that’s about it. But, it’s working as far as helping the Padre run distances. We got there around 8:30, and ran into an unexpected crowd.

This is what I know:
-Show up at 8:30 in the morning, and share the track/field with the whole high school football team. Gah. Nothin’ like running in circles around 16 yr old boys.
-Show up at 10:00 in the morning because I decided to “sleep in” a little bit, and I’ll be the only idiot there braving the already 100 degree sun. On a black track surface. Omg Hootttt.
-Show up at 4:30 in the afternoon and it’s not only still 100 degrees, but the surface is about twice that hot from soakin up the rays allllll day. But at least I’m still one of about 3 or 4 people there. I can handle it.
Anywhere from 5-6 is totally temperature-do-able and even better towards the end because the bleachers have started to shade half of the lap. Gooood stuff.

This is what I learned:
-Show up at 8:30 and apparently have interupted ‘play time’ at the track. As we drove up I’m thinkin’ “Wow, there’s a Lot of people here. Weird”. As we get closer, we see strollers, kids running around the field, kids running around the track, and way too many people walking/running. Not that this is a problem necessarily, I’m fully aware that this is a public place and is going to be crowded now and then. But when you have to change three lanes just to avoid walkers about 3 times per lap, it does get a little frustrating.
And it’s kiiind of cute when a little one starts trying to run with you. But not so cute when he almost steps on your feet and cuts in front of you. And not so cute when they decide get out and push their own strollers, wandering between two lanes at a time, as you’re trying to figure out their wanderings as to avoid hitting them. Whoooa.

I think I’ll stick to my morning road runs and the more enjoyable just-me-and-the-road.

1 Comment »

  1. I am incapable of running around tracks. The other nice thing about them is they are completely flat, but I’m the same as you I either get super bored or lose track of how many laps I’ve run.

    Comment by megkathleen — August 7, 2008 @ 11:58 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

