this is me now

August 12, 2008

What was I thinkin’?

Filed under: "ehhh" days,working — by heatherdc @ 12:13 am

I just had a three day weekend, and I’m lookin at a four-day work week. Not too bad, right? You would think…

This is my last week, and I leave in about 6 days. Why did I think I would want to work this week?! Why why why. I. do. not. know.

About a month ago, when I told them what my “last” day would be, I thought I’d get bored if I had a whole week off. Usually by the third day of my ‘three day’ weekend, this is the case. So why would a whole week be any different? What would I possibly do that would entertain me for that long, besides completely dread having to pack up my closet (and shoes! and pictures! and all my crap!)?

Let me tell you what I would have to do…..a whole lotta Noooothin’. And I would love every minute of it. Well, also a whole lotta packing. I will Not love every minute that. But that’s not the point.

So, what the heck was I thinkin’? Why did I want that extra pay check (well, that’s an easy answer. but really, it will just be a few drinks in the scheme of things (yes, I’m measuring this extra money in terms of drinks. Whateva.)) ??? Why did I think that four more days wouldn’t make much of a difference?! Oh, the questions.

My brother is home for the whole week, leaving Friday. The day after I’m done. My sister comes home Wednesday, while I’m still working. Gahhhhh.

I’m kickin myself in the ass for even thinking I’d want to get up at 5:30 every morning this week and go run around the hospital. Today we were ridiculously busy and when I was done at four the only thing that kept me putting one foot in front of the other was thinking about the biiig ol’ Nap I was about to take. I went straight downstairs and crashed. I was cranky and tired and annoyed at myself. And there are few things that are more annoying than being annoyed at yourself. Seriously.

Don’t worry though, I found ways in which to cheer myself up, in addition to sleeping for an hour (mmmmm, that was great). I watched lots of S&TC, mixed in with some Olympic swimming/synchronized diving (omg how do they do that?!?), and a bowl of French Silk ice cream. With whipped cream and chocolate syrup on top. And then another bowl. Don’t judge me. It was deeeelicious.

2 Comments »

  1. Ack, work blows. I remember doing that with every summer job I ever had and somehow never learning my lesson.

    Comment by megkathleen — August 12, 2008 @ 2:37 pm |Reply

  2. No idea what you were thinking. I took ten days off between jobs, and it was probably the best week of this entire year!!! Definitely enjoy the weekend off at least!

    Comment by Playful Professional — August 12, 2008 @ 10:51 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

