this is me now

September 3, 2008

Things I’ve learned after writing to you 164 times

Filed under: birthdays!,blogging,things I Looove — by heatherdc @ 10:30 pm

It is officially my Blog birthday. One year of blogging! Yessssss.

A year ago I logged onto wordpress.com. I had been sitting in front of a computer at work for three hours. It was after shopping online, and compulsively checking e-mail, and stalking facebook, and finishing homework and thinking “Omgggg what can I possibly do to entertain myself for one more hour?!”

Uhh, blog? Sure. And This is what I came up with.

I’ve learned quite a bit since then. 365 days, and 164 posts later, I’m still learning.

::I never thought I’d be a “regular” post-er. Always figured I’d just write when I had time. Then it changed from being something I thought I should do, to something I wanted to do. Even something somebody else wanted me to do.

::For a while I had no idea how to insert pictures. Uh, we won’t elaborate on that. I realize this is quite easy to do. I still wonder where to draw the line; show the eyes? block out the face? just say, who caressss, and put them up? I might take them down eventually, but for now, they’re around.

::Some posts toe the line that I have yet to draw, and I’m okay with that…..for now. I constantly wonder when it gets “too” personal, and usually refrain from anything close. Every once in a while I’ll give you some insight into the wonder that is me, I’ll give you a story or two, and I’ll share a little of the people who mean the most to me. We’ll keep at that….for now.

::I’d much rather share random stories and thoughts, than try to keep a “theme”. I like to run (and train, and race!!), and cook, and experiment with recipes, and take road trips, and lounge around, and study, and watch TV on DVD, and have Cosmos, and read books, and then hop on here if I think about something interesting. And that’s just how it works.

::When I incorporate things I learn from my “regular reads” into day-to-day conversation, I feel like I’m exposing a guilty pleasure. And don’t we looove it? It’s like reading a PEOPLE magazine and then telling your friend “Uhh, did you see that Jen and John broke UP!? I know, riiight?!”. Except it’s more like “Well this blog I read about ____ , blah blah blah”. Am I the only one who does this?! Gah, I hope not. What can I say, I like your blogs. I read them. And sometimes I’m entertained enough to talk about them. Be flattered. Yes, be very flattered.

::I’m finallyyyy learning some basics of html-coding and how to add stuff by myself in the “text box”. I can’t even tell you how much fun I think this is! It might only go so far as putting in text and images and horizontal lines, but we’re goin from there. And it’s funnnnn.

Now, a year later, I have an online documentary of my senior year of college, and the transition I’ve made into the next phase of life. That right there….is priceless. And a little crazy.

I thought about trying to come up with 164 things I learned after 164 posts. Aren’t you glad I ruled that one out? Ehhh yah, me too.

Happy blogging!

3 Comments »

  1. Believe me, you have a great blog. I’ll be visiting next time…
    Keep it up!

    Blackened Fish Recipe

    Comment by Joel — September 4, 2008 @ 10:55 am |Reply

  2. Happy blogoversary Heather! I too find myself telling my day to day friends who don’t blog (because most of them don’t) about things I read on a blog. Kind of cool – the network of friendships and stories this whole blogging thing has added to our communication world.

    Comment by Sassy — September 4, 2008 @ 1:00 pm |Reply

  3. Mine’s coming up later this month. I really can’t believe I’ve been doing this for a year. Happy blog anniversary!

    Comment by Playful Professional — September 4, 2008 @ 9:25 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

