this is me now

September 17, 2008

Ever true to you, dear old White and Blue

Filed under: college,getting old,PennState — by heatherdc @ 11:18 pm

Three months ago I moved out. I walked across the stage and got the diploma. I left Penn State.

Today, it hit me.

For the next 3 weeks I’ll be working in “College dining” for the University I’m at now (grad program…). It’s completely different than the way Penn State ran things, which is confusing. But, if anything, presents a challenge to try and figure things out. The school hosted an Involvement fair today, completely showing our’s who’s the boss. Gah.

As opposed to table after table stuffed into the student union, they had everything outside. Very smart. It was huuuuge. And they had a climbing wall, a DJ, a burger/hot dog grill, and an information center with maps. Um, whoa.

I sat at our table all day, which turned out to be pretty pointless since I had zero answers to all questions. Luckily, I was accompanied by a staff member. Otherwise students would’ve been like, and we’re paying you money becaaaause? And I would’ve responded, Good point. Go get a burger. It’s on me. Here’s $5.00.

I love doing stuff like this, because you basically just people-watch for hours. Definitely witnessed some interesting things given the volume of students. Somehow I had forgotten that 1 out of every 4 girls decides on sweatpants for the day. Ew. And how much college kids obsess over free things, like pens and pencils and campus maps and candy. One girl basically demanded that we give her a handout with the calorie count for every single thing served on campus. And was baffled that this information is not exactly available….yet. But they’re workin on it. Shocking. One guy stood at our stable for almost half an hour, and his questions veered so far from dining-related that he was asking us why the bookstore ordered shirts on a yearly basis rather than by demand. Uhh, whaaaat?!

I saw a lady wearing a bright pink dress, with pink flats, a pink hat, aaaand a pink umbrella. No, it wasn’t raining.

There are places where this campus eerily resembles my alma mater. Grass everywhere, huge green trees, red brick buildings, 150+ years old. I got homesick, for Penn State. Honestly, a feeling of wanting so badly to walk through the HUB and out onto the lawn. Where, on days like this, tons of students are laying out on blankets and jackets, reading and laughing and doing Sudokus. And then walk to class, just to be done 50 minutes later and think “What will I do with this gorgeous Fall day?”……

Today, for the first time, it really hit me that I’m done. And I miss it. A Lot.

It’s just not the same being surrounded by Red & Black. Ironically I was in navy pants and a white shirt today. Apparently my subconscious was screaming “We Are!…..Penn State!!” I hear ya buddy.

We’re ever true to you, dear old White & Blue.

2 Comments »

  1. Grad school just isn’t the same.

    It’s funny that you mention the girls wearing sweat pants – I can’t believe I used to think it was ok for me to wear pajama pants to class. Seems like ages ago.

    Comment by Megkathleen — September 19, 2008 @ 1:31 pm |Reply

  2. Awww. Even as a Notre Dame fan I feel sad for you. I can tell you really miss it.

    And people watching? I could do it for days on end.

    Comment by cdp — September 21, 2008 @ 6:35 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

