this is me now

November 2, 2008

Finally, ‘alumni’ gets added to the collection

Filed under: haircuts,PennState,weekends — by heatherdc @ 11:10 pm

I did a little shopping today at the Student book store, this time in the ‘alumni’ department. Weird.

And then I saw the football one, you can never have too many Penn State football shirts. Especially while we’re #3!!!!!! in the nation.

It was a very strange feeling to be back there after 5 months. Half of me felt like it was just any other weekend, and I’ve been there all along. The other half of me wanted to cry when I drove by *our* apartment and realized how badly I wanted to just walk in the door and see my roomies sprawled out in the living room watching Top Model and painting their finger nails.

I went for a run around campus on Saturday morning, just to get the full view. I went by everything I wanted to see, and witnessed some things I definitely didn’t need to see. Many walks of shame and awkward taxi good-byes, with way too many people still in full slut-costume gear. That’s a lot of skin to witness by 11 in the morning. But also very entertaining.  It was absolutely gorgeous outside, a sunny 60º, with bright red/orange/yellow leaves everywhere. Love.

Saturday just felt normal.  I went to see the kids I babysat, I wandered around Target, and then I had a haircut appointment. That’s right, I went back to my first love. And I’m convinced that for the rest of my life I will be making routine trips to State College, because he is the only person that I’m allowing to cut my hair.  I let him chop it again, thinking it could be a while before I’m back, and hair grows. But of course, I love it.

We had dinner downtown, went out, watched the Texas-T.Tech game (seriously….omFg. that was amazing), and hopped around a few bars.

Then I woke up Sunday remembering I had to come back to MD. Gah.

Surprisingly, I wasn’t too reluctant to leave. I know I’ll be back in 3 weeks, and thats when the real reunion will happen. All 4 of us, together, for the first time since graduation. Can.NOT.Wait.

In the meantime, LB & I will be plotting how to kick out the current residents and get our old apartment back for the weekend. Just to make things authentic.  That’s not crazy, right? Right.

2 Comments »

  1. Would you believe I haven’t been back to my college campus since I graduated? I am insanely jealous that you are back and enjoying a fabulous weekend there. I might have to plan a basketball game trip.

    Comment by Megkathleen — November 3, 2008 @ 6:30 pm |Reply

  2. You definitely need to go back, it’s such a weird feeling, but So refreshing!

    Comment by heatherdc — November 3, 2008 @ 11:37 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

