this is me now

November 5, 2008

Remaining on the card

Filed under: about me,being sporty,shopping,things I want/need — by heatherdc @ 11:45 pm

When it comes to gift cards, I basically hoard them. Give me a gift card, and it’s likely it will be at least 6 months before I even think of spending it. Why? I have No. Idea. It’s almost like I think it’s ‘special money’, that can only be spent on the very best. And I will wait until I find those things. Never mind the things I need, that I could spend the card on. No, no. It must be the extravagant things. Apparently that’s what gift cards are for, according to me.

Thanks to my little running habit, a very good family friend got me a gift card for Lady Foot Locker. The card said “this should help with your new hobby!”. Until then, I had never thought of running as a hobby. Scrapbooking? That’s a hobby. Blogging? That could be considered a hobby. But running….? Hmm. Interesting. Running is my hobby. And let me tell you, it can be a very $costly$ hobby.

So I have this money at my disposal, and I’ll give you one guess as to what I’ve done with it…….

Nothing.

I’ve had it since July, and done nothing with it. Mostly because I’m saving it to buy new shoes, which I can’t do online. Because that’s a nightmare. And the closest store could be anywhere from 2 miles to 50 miles away for all I know. I know what you’re thinking, and Yes. I googled it. And, um, they aren’t close.

So I’m browsing online, under Track & Field/XC, to see what I can find. The variety of “running gear” that a website can make you think you need is quite surprising. If you’ve been to a “Running Expo” before a race, you probably know what I mean. I walk around those going, what’s that for?? Clearly not an elite over here. I don’t even know what my Garmin does besides tell me a time, a pace, and a distance. Don’t bother me with the instruction book, those things are confusing. Oh, I also know how to race my virtual running buddy. But it took me two months to figure out how to get the backlight to come on. Gah.

With all of the money still on the card (guessing a shoe cost, and subtracting. Cause, seriously, I need those shoes), I could get……..

A “Storm” Jacket. Which comes with a new attitude…Bring it on, winter! I’ll be fiiiine

stormjacket

…Or a “Pastry” boot. Seriously, it’s a “Fab Cookie Boot”. Clearly.

cookieboot

They are purple. Which is pretty sweet. But they’re also high-tops and metallic silver. Which is a little crazy.

What I really want is a running singlet that has a pocket in the back for a key/iPod/ID/cell phone/whatever won’t bother you bouncing against your back. I honestly think that’s a cool concept. And it definitely beats taking my key off the keychain and stuffing it in my armband every time I run. Because putting it back on the keychain always hurts my finger. I also want a waist-band (I refuse to use the word “fanny pack”) so when I start doing the long ones I can actually bring “nourishment”. Which basically means I can put in a baby water bottle and a bag of gummy worms. Yummmm. Not so into those gel-ish protein/caffeine flavored things. Sugary candy? Yes, maybe I’ll spend the rest of my gift card on that.

3 Comments »

  1. I do the same thing with gift cards, holding out for the best of the best…if I spend it on an everyday something I would buy on my own, it just doesn’t feel like what a gift is supposed to be…even if technically the money on the card was the gift. and those shoes are hilarious, I love the description low in calorie

    Comment by Erin — November 6, 2008 @ 9:36 am |Reply

  2. For some reason those gift cards just feel special, to be spent on something purposeful and just right. Love the purple/silver high tops. Very fun.

    Comment by Sassy — November 6, 2008 @ 1:29 pm |Reply

  3. I like the jacket – it’s cute AND practical.

    Comment by Megkathleen — November 6, 2008 @ 3:13 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

