this is me now

November 9, 2008

Follow the sea of Blue & White

Filed under: football,PennState,things I Looove,weekends — by heatherdc @ 10:37 pm

For Saturday’s game (mention the result, and you’re not allowed to read anymore.) we headed into Georgetown. There’s an ‘unofficial’ Penn State bar there, which is an idea I’m in love with. The parents and I tried to hit it up for the Ohio State game a few weeks ago, but it was standing room only with four hours until kick-off.
Um, no.

This time I was prepared. I knew how to get there, and I knew to go early. And basically had my fingers crossed that it wouldn’t be as crazy since we were playing Iowa. (Seriously. IOWA. gahhhhh). I sported my jersey, as usual, and the roomie wore navy blue because she’s a good sport. I actually almost walked right past the bar while I was looking for it (who knows…), and I’m like “I think it’s close….” and one of the bouncers outside is like “Um, right here. Upstairs!”.

Oh, he knew. Penn Staters, follow the sea of Blue & White.

We were there and seated (whooo) with almost two hours to spare. So, we waited……

One hour later, we ordered the first pitcher. And this is what it looked like about 10 minutes before Game-tiiiime.

one.down.They played the PSU fight song, twice. There was somebody doing the cowbell thing so we could chant “P-S-U”, there was pleeeenty of “We Are…..PENN STATE!!!”s (always politely followed by the “Thank you, You’re welcome!”), and there was “Heyyy, hey Babyyy” playing nice and loud right before the 4th Quarter!! Oh, and they played Journey “Livin’ on a Prayer”.

Yup. Everything was as it should be. Love.

Right before half-time the waitresses/waiters walk around asking whether or not you’re playing Flip-Cup. Uh, whaaat? Just wondering, so they can grab you another pitcher and more cups. Yes Pleeeease! flip.cup!

My side of the table may have lost about 5-2, but now I remember how to play flip-cup. Which is much more important.

I am still amazed at how good it feels to be surrounded by people who understand your obsession with a place, a team, and an old coach that we will love no matter what. I’m also still in shock over what happened in the last minute of the game. Mention it and we can’t be friends anymore.

I might not have stepped foot in Beaver stadium this season, for the first time in four years, but I’ve definitely found the next best thing.

1 Comment »

  1. Well, I won’t mention the outcome, but I will say that it made me sad. I have temporarily become a Penn State fan because they seem as crazy as WA state fans and my team is currently the worst in Pac 10 history and it is just too depressing to pay attention to. So I’m rooting for Penn State.

    Comment by Megkathleen — November 10, 2008 @ 6:12 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

