this is me now

November 12, 2008

My own dose of TBL

Filed under: about me,training,workin outtt — by heatherdc @ 12:00 am

Thanks to Target, I now own a “Power Sculpt” video featuring the trainers from “The Biggest Loser” (which I’m dubbing TBL, because it’s shorter to type). If you’ve ever watched the show, you know how scary this is.

This is me in an attempt to actually follow a more “balanced” training schedule. Not that I’m actually training for anything, right now, but ya know. In theory. On runnersworld.com you can type in some numbers and Bam! there’s a schedule, just for you. It’s pretty sweet.

My recent attempts at doing something different for an ‘off’ day have been a little disastrous. I hate exercise bike, only because years of soccer + running have left me with knees that belong to the elderly. The last time I did the bike, for a whopping 25 minutes, I was limping when I got off. Probably not a good sign.

Then there’s the elliptical. I love these things. But there are different types. And the type they have in our gym? It makes my feet fall asleep! I don’t mean that in some analytical sense as in like “Omg its soooo boring”. No, running on a treadmill is boring. Literally, my feet fall asleep….as in, no blood flow, tingling feeling, stomping them on the ground to wake them up…..looking like a crazy. I don’t think this is normal.

Some people swim for cross-training. Um, thats not happening.

Soo…..workout video! I’m totally open to trying Pilates, but don’t belong to an actual gym-gym. Like, the kind you pay for. Therefore, I can’t attend the classes. They don’t appreciate that. Instead, I’ll spend the money once and have the ‘class’ (aka Video) whenever I want! Goood deal.

The “TBL” DVD caught my eye. Because I watch that show, and those people are crazy. I love it. It’s the “Power Sculpt” video, which implies weight lifting (there are a few more to choose from ) but um, I didn’t buy weights to use yet. I thought I’d test out the video and see which ones wouldn’t kill me or be too easy (depending on what we actually do with them). Yesterday was the trial run, and you definitely Need the weights, but it was still a workout. Jillian doesn’t mess around. Gah. Less than 24 hrs later I’m already sore. The video is set up as a 6-week program, which is awesome because it means I won’t be doing the same thing over and over and over.

It also means she’ll be kickin’ my ass in 6 different ways and I’ll be like “I gotcha, running doesn’t necessarily make you strong. Yup. I get it!”

3 Comments »

  1. I’ll have to check that out. Right now I do yoga on my off days, but it’d be nice to get something different in there.

    Comment by Megkathleen — November 12, 2008 @ 3:08 pm |Reply

  2. Ahhh.. you have to love Target.
    This video sounds good! I’ve been trying to find stuff to do too to fill my off days on Tuesday – Thursdays (between spin). I try Pilates tomorrow, and I tried Body Pump last week, which was some heinous class where you bench press- it was awful and I could barely life a coffee cup for like a week. So, I think Pilates will do it. But, I would much rather do something at home on off days. You’ll have to let me know how you like the videos as you use them more!

    Comment by Jen — November 12, 2008 @ 9:04 pm |Reply

  3. Jillian has a game for the wii which is a boot camp. Its called Fitness Ultimatum I don’t own a wii, but I wish I did after seeing the demo, it looked pretty amazing!

    Comment by Erin — November 13, 2008 @ 11:55 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

