this is me now

November 18, 2008

Because right now, it’s wandering

Filed under: "ehhh" days,random — by heatherdc @ 10:29 pm

My mind has been in too many places over the last few days.  There’s no constant, other than knowing one thing: I’m ready for a break. Just a little escape from this place, and this schedule, and this persistent curiosity.

I’m only 3 months into this internship, meaning I have a full 7 to go. Thus far, I know what I want to do. Three months ago? I had no idea. Which is kind of the idea behind why we’re here. Well, that, and being eligible to take an exam next Fall. Soo…it’s a little daunting to think that despite this, I still have to go through all of the other rotations. I still have to see what everything else is like, juuuust in case I change my mind. Even though I kind of despise Food Service. It’s just too much to think about, with the menu and the cost/revenue and the food safety and ahhhhh.  I mean, don’t get me wrong, I love food. I love cooking and I love experimenting. Just not when it’s at the risk of somebody else vomiting, or the risk of a company losing money because we f-ed up an order. Anyway. I love clinical. I like being in hospitals.

If you’re not thoroughly confused, I’m impressed. But this is just what’s on my mind.

I don’t know if I want to stay in this area, but right now, it’s lookin good. I’m close to Penn State, I’m close to two cities ( just in between ), I can hop on a train to NYC, and it’s not snowing here yet.  We went to “Power Plant” in Baltimore on Saturday night, and I got a small taste of what a night out (when you have $$) can really be in the big cityyy. Love.

….but there are other options. I can move, and live where I want to (ahem, where I get a job). And that’s a little exhilarating too. Gahhhhh.

Where else has my mind been? Oh, many places….

REUNION!!!! All four of us, together, in Happy Valley. Oh. Happy. Day. Whyyy is it not Friday yet?!?!?

Watching “The Biggest Loser”. Seriously, love this show. Jillian and Michael are making this country healthier, one crazy competitor at a time. And those weigh ins? Whew, intense. These people are puttin’ up some numbers.

Thanksgiving. BREAK. <– That’s a key word there. Break. Away from here, away from work, away from readings and case studies and quizzes. Just a Wednesday to Sunday of a home, tradition, flannel sheets, and turkey food. Yessss.

How to decorate the ‘new’ apt for Xmas. I’m thinkin the tree will be passed this year, because without Sal and LB to take care of it, I’d probably burn something down. And the people below us would definitely not appreciate that. Soooo, lots of tinsel and candy-canes and red & green somethings and holiday-Oreos will have to do.

And one more thing. Britney’s new one, “Womanizer”. Turn that on and run, and you’ll know what I mean. Good stuff.

3 Comments »

  1. Two thoughts. I cannot believe Amy’s vote on Biggest Loser last night. Ridiculous. And second, love Womanizer. I’ve got to get my computer working again so I can download another running playlist. Mine right now is getting old.

    Comment by Playful Professional — November 19, 2008 @ 1:42 pm |Reply

  2. I’m sure the year will go by fast and you’ll be off looking for a real job before you know it!

    Comment by Megkathleen — November 19, 2008 @ 5:51 pm |Reply

  3. Heather, thanks so much for your offer to help! I log everything I eat pretty religiously at DailyPlate.com – my username there is Scenestealer. Lately I’ve been getting really frustrated and not keeping track, which is why you’ll see some missing days, but I’ve been loggging for over a year and would guess I only have about 7 days total missed. Generally missed days are when I went overboard and then couldn’t figure out how to count what I ate, but not necessarily always. Let me know what you think!

    Comment by Laura — November 19, 2008 @ 7:58 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

