this is me now

November 25, 2008

Off to the land of troubled car people

Filed under: days off,holidays,travel — by heatherdc @ 12:19 am

I’ll be leaving straight from class this afternoon, flying out of BWI and landing in Detroit, MI.

Arriving at 10 p.m. , marking the beginning of a 5 day Break. Yesssss!

This is one city in Michigan I’ve definitely never been to, not even in the airport. This surprised me, because I’ve been through a Lot of random airports. All I know about it is that Eminem lived on 8 mile and the car factories are pulling their hair out right now. Not good. Luckily, I’ll be in and out very quickly. It’s just en route to the final destination (more central MI), where I won’t be with family, but will be with some special people.

I’m thankful for a little escape from this busy life.

I’m thankful that I’m flying, not driving. Even with gas prices constantly dropping (keep going!!), I have no desire to brave the snow that is drenching that state right now.

I’m thankful that I have parents who can, and gladly do, help me out in times of tight-budgets, and still want me to have a fun holiday, home or not.

I’m thankful that despite a very recent change of status, we can still be good friends. And still want to spend this holiday together.

I’m thankful that his parents love Green Chili enough that I can cook them a New-Mexican dinner on Wednesday night, and that will be my “thank you” for giving me lots of delicious holiday eats on Thursday. Flowers just wouldn’t travel well, and food is always better…….right? Right.

I’m thankful that I somehow convinced myself to only pack 3 pairs of shoes. Well, technically 2, since one pair will have to be on my feet. And also amazed at the space this opens up in my big ol’ suitcase.

I’m thankful that when I come back, I have 3 weeks of clinical left, and then I’m flying hooooome for the most wonderful time of the year.

And I’m thankful that I finally have a laptop (not really “new”, but 5 months later it’s still a novelty to me!), and I can travel with my life and entertainment in one little 5- lb bag.

To the rest of you traveling today, be safe!! And just sing in the car if traffic makes you want to ram into the person next to you. It helps, trust me.

1 Comment »

  1. Hi there chicka!
    Hope all is well, miss talking to yaaaaaa!
    Happy Happy Thanksgiving! Have fun in MI!
    xo

    Comment by Jen — November 25, 2008 @ 10:11 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

