this is me now

November 27, 2008

Sweaters, soup, and full-frontal snogging

Filed under: books books books,random,shopping — by heatherdc @ 2:45 pm

This whole ‘break’ thing is amazing. Nothing on the agenda, for 5 whole dayysss. Love.

Even after almost 5 years of life over here where it snows all winter, I have never purchased or owned snow boots. I’m stubborn, and have somehow survived 4 winters without them, so why stop now. Right? Ehhh.

I show up in Michigan and the snow is all over, unlike MD. Here I am, proud that I was able to restrict myself to packing only 3 pairs of shoes (ankle boots, black flats and running shoes), and realizing the ones I should have packed…I don’t even have. Gah. Soooo, guess what that means….

Shoe shopping!

The only other thing on our plan for the day was to buy groceries to make a New-Mexican dinner. It was my way of saying “Thanks for feeding me holiday food and letting me stay at your house all week!!”, without having to carry flowers or a bottle of wine on the plane with me. Instead, I’ll take over the cooking for one night and bring in the green chile. Who can complain about that? That’s what I’m sayin.

Knowing me too well, he took me to DSW.  With my budget-style shopping, and not-buying-shoes-for-fun attitude, this required all sorts of self-control. I went straight back to the ‘clearance’ section….um, because thats where Snow Boots will be….right? No. I tried on a beautiful pair of beautiful maroon, round-toed pumps. Why did I do this to myself? I’m still wondering. Because I’m still thinking they belong to my feet.

I did not buy snow boots. But we did wander over to some other stores where I got a great deal on some sweaters for work. Words do no justice to how bored I am with my ‘work’ clothes. Anything new to throw in the mix makes me happy for days. And since I didn’t buy warm shoes, I bought warm soup for lunch instead. Compromise people. It totally hit the spot.

And on a completely random note, have you heard of “Angus, thongs, and full-frontal snogging“?

No? I’m not surprised. But if you’re looking for an extremely easy read (really, we’re talkin like 6th grade level), go get it! I’m a little bit obsessed with the series. I own 4 out of the 6 . They’re simply the inner-ramblings of a 14-yr old British girl, and omg, they’re Hilarious. You just have to take my word for it.

Uh, anyway. Apparently Nickelodeon teamed up with a group of British tween actors, and they have brought this book to life. Jack found it online, streamed it, and surprised me with it as a joke…sort of. I’m not gonna lie, I was pretty excited about this. But…..turns out that tween actresses just can’t do justice to this author’s witty character. The movie was unbelievably corny, and the funny-factor was nowhere close to the books. Hm, sad day. But, we tried.

Happy Thanksgiving!!!

3 Comments »

  1. I know the feeling, I can never have enough work clothes! When I go shopping I basically think oh that would be cute for work, not sure when my life switched to work clothes mode vs. cocktail drinking outfits

    Comment by Erin — November 29, 2008 @ 4:02 pm |Reply

  2. I’m not allowed in DSW. I am utterly incapable of leaving with anthing less than three pairs of shoes.

    Comment by Megkathleen — December 1, 2008 @ 8:20 pm |Reply

  3. Can you believe I have never been to a DSW?
    Am I totally missing out???
    Hmmm.. I think I need to go…

    Comment by Jen — December 4, 2008 @ 10:27 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

