this is me now

February 3, 2009

Hotdogs don’t keep

Filed under: cooking,decisions,food — by heatherdc @ 11:15 pm

I have been making this false claim for at least two weeks now:

I’m going to COOK this week!

I’d like to think that sticking a potato in the microwave and “grilling” chicken on a skillet qualifies as cooking. Or that home-made Rice-krispie treats sprinkled with chocolate chips could count for a made-from-scratch dinner. I’d also like to think that the two boxes of pasta that I’ve accumulated (thanksss coupons) will just cook themselves, along with a tasty sauce and a seasoned meat to make a well-balanced tasty meal.

Ehhhh.

On Sunday (our “grocery” day), I refrained from buying frozen meals. I did buy ground beef, and chicken, and the usual fresh veggies. All with very good intentions to make real meals, and loooots of them so that I’d have leftovers and I do not have to cook again. Yes, I was totally on a roll.

Then, we went to a Super-bowl party. The host sent us home with leftovers, and we were like THANK YOUU! In our fridge we currently have two containers of chicken wings and hot-dogs. Yes, hot dogs. I like them, and I (sort of) know whats in them, I eat them every now and then, and I am a Nutritionist. Don’t judge me.

Obviously this threw the cooking plans right out the window…..for at least a few nights. Sunday – super-bowl food. Monday – chicken, salad, potato (see above. does not count.). Tuesday……left-over Super-bowl food? Ummm, yup.

Guess what? Hot dogs don’t keep. They don’t taste so “good” after being grilled, chilled, and reheated. Gah. Who knew.

It’s a blessing in disguise! Tomorrow night I will return to Plan A, and I WILL COOK. My logic is that declaring it online will be effective (and encouraging).

So. Here, you have my word!

Please hold me to it. My pantry and stomach will greatly appreciate it.

1 Comment »

  1. I promise to come over there and kick your ass if you don’t cook.

    Comment by Megkathleen — February 4, 2009 @ 5:56 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

