this is me now

March 24, 2009

Wine and F21 Online

Filed under: random,shopping,weird — by heatherdc @ 9:17 pm

I have made some serious progress in my quest to enjoy a nice glass of wine. A few weeks ago I went so far as to buy a bottle, for myself. Yes folks, this was huge.

At the liquor store I realized that I had NO idea whether or not we even owned a cork-screw (sad, I know). I wasn’t about to go all the way home with my First bottle of wine, and not even be able to open the damn thing. So, I purchased a cork-screw for $4.99 at the counter. Problem Solved. Uhhh, until I got back to the apt and found one. GAH.

It took me a few tries to get the cork outta there. See.

seriously. concentrating.

seriously. concentrating.

Anyway. I’m not gonna lie, I thoroughly enjoyed that bottle of Chardonnay. So, white wine and I get along quite well now. Bottle #2 was a Sauvignon Blanc (had to Google that spelling) , at the advice of my Mom. Browsing lane up on lane of wine bottles is ridiculously overwhelming. Asking my Mom what kind I’ll like is much easier. I have no idea what the difference is, but so far both of them taste just fiiine to me.

Monday was a long one. Our class lectures focused solely on Resume-editing, job-searching, interview etiquette, etc etc etc. The level of anxiety that built up gave me a headache. Well, that, on top of sitting in a room for 4 hours. Monday night, I decided a glass of wine was in order. It was 5 o’clock and my brain was tired. Sooo, I poured a glass, grabbed my comp and laid on my bed to read blogs and listen to Pandora and do pointless things online. Love.

Around 6 I was more than half-way through glass #2 and I thought “Oh, this is what a wine-buzz feels like. Sweeeeet.”.

I texted this to LB, knowing she would fully appreciate the fact that I was on a Monday-night whine high. Me, the official non-wine drinker of our former apt. She totally did. Then I thought about shopping. Random? Yupppp.

I haven’t shopped online in monthsssss. I don’t let myself go there anymore, it’s too dangerous. Being in a store and walking out before I spend money isn’t too bad. Staring at something online and browsing for hours while just sitting in my sweats? Not so easy to walk away from. Add wine into that mix and we’ve got trouble. Especially when it’s “Forever 21” and everything is a “FABULOUS Find”! Really. It is.

My “bag” quickly accumulated to somewhere around 9 items. I initially had no intentions of “Checking Out”, but ya know…..there were some pretty cute Fab-Finds in that bag. So, basically I let it sit there all night, just taunting me on a Tab in Firefox. “My Bag”. That stupid bag. Full of things I want, not things I Need. Full of fabulous tops and summer dresses and scarves. Oh, F21.

In my defense, I reduced it to “3 items” for less than $30 (ooooh, F21). I loved that S.B. and I love my new purchases.
Successful.

2 Comments »

  1. Wine & online shopping, sounds like a great time to me!!!

    Comment by Erin — March 25, 2009 @ 10:44 am |Reply

  2. This post totally cracked me up.
    I love it!

    Comment by Jen — April 1, 2009 @ 12:56 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

